We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here three nights. Room and bedding was fresh and clean. Ensuite was lovely with a spa bath. Great electric shower also. Had our dog with us and we were all made very welcome. Breakfast was lovely Teresa and the blackberry home made jam was delicious John. Larry (our dog) misses his bacon in the morning now.

Very relaxing place to stay, well priced and a three minute walk takes you into the centre of Newcastle. I would certainly hope to go back to Fairy Glen again.

Thanks Teresa and John.

Sharon C

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonc443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came here because we didn't feel at home with our first b&b in Newcastle and couldn't have made a better decision. A real home from home. Teresa is a great character and delightful hostess making the three of us and our dog feel more like friends of the family than paying guests. It's rare to be made so welcome and be so well looked after. The added bonus, after a week of adequate, but functional shower rooms was a great big bath as well as a separate shower cubicle in our en-suite. That, with a breakfast of fresh eggs from the hens we could see in the garden with her 4 beautiful dogs made this a special place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We found the B and B in a great location for attending a friends wedding in nearby Hugh Mc Canns. Its just a few minutes walk from the seafront promenade. Our room had a panoramic view of Slieve Donard. We enjoyed the chilled out vibe.
Thanks Joanne and Jack from Carlingford June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great family run B&B. Tidy, spacious, well priced and Teresa and John are wonderful hosts.

Particularly enjoyed the breakfast (locally sourced free range eggs were lovely!) and hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst photographing a friend's wedding nearby. Teresa & John both very welcoming, making sure everything was OK, great hosts.
Room was standard B&B type, had everything required for my stay, only thing missing was an iron which John got for me straight away when I asked, nothing at all to complain about with room, bed also very comfy! Bathroom looks recently renovated, nicely done, sadly didn't get chance to use the jacuzzi bath but it looks very tempting!

Sadly was only able to have breakfast on one of the mornings of my stay, which was very nice indeed and highly recommended, set me up nicely for the long day ahead, Teresa was very helpful making sure coffee, toast etc readily available.

Few reviewers have mentioned the parking, I was told was welcome to use the off-road parking area, however just parked on the side road with no issues at all.

If I had to just pick one thing to niggle about with my stay, best I can come up with is the remote control for the tele was a little temperamental, other than that, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesFarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

An excellent place to stay, Teresa was very welcoming and friendly towards us both. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. A hearty breakfast was served in the morning along with friendly chat. We would highly recommend this B&B to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend went again to fairy glen it's r third time here !! We love it !! Teresa and John are lovely they are very welcoming :) the b fasts are lovely and made fresh , the rooms are lovely and clean and you get tea and coffee free in the rooms , it's a stone throw from the main strip in Newcastle

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie1984059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Tullybrannigan Road, Newcastle BT33 0DX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairy Glen Luxury bed and breakfast in NewcastleNestled between famous The Mountains 'O' Mourne and the Irish Sea lies the popular Fairy Glen B&B. The Fairy Glen is a mere five minute walk from Newcastle Main Street, sandy beech, promenade and Donard Forest leading into the Mournes, ideal for mountain walkers! The Fairy Glen is also a two minute car drive from the world-renowned Royal County Down Golf Course, a must for all golf enthusiasts.The Fairy Glen is a treat for children and adults alike as Fairies are a feature throughout the house, it is the perfect place to allow you to get away from it all or even ‘go away with the fairies’. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. Each room has en-suite facilities, both with ensuite facilities where you can lie back and relax in the Jacuzzi bath. Together with an attractive guest lounge, laundry facilities, varied breakfast menu and off road parking, the Fairy Glen is a magical and special place to stay. Come and experience our warm, friendly atmosphere and if you are very lucky you may just see a little fairy for yourself... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing