We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakleigh House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newcastle
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Golf Links House(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roma(Newcastle)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Villa(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Avoca Hotel(Newcastle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
37
5
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstollymore forest parkb bone nightsun roomstayed herewelcoming hostsnext morningbeautiful locationrayleighaccommodationmournestvwedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 45 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A lovely guest house in a beautiful location, the welcome was warm and the service excellent! we stayed one night for wedding held in local hotel, had booked the 3 rooms and were very impressed and didnt want to leave. Beds and rooms comfy and met all requirements and breakfast was excellent !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have just come back from spending 3 nights with Jan at the Oakleigh and it was amazing! The rooms are so comfortable and the service was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for anything more and if we did she would have done it for us.

Room Tip: Email Jan before you go and request a double or single
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lia1-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I and our daughter and son-in-law stayed here last year and liked it so much we didn't bother to look anywhere else when we visited this year. The accommodation is spotless, the breakfast superb and the host - Jan - is delightful. Unusually the tea making facilities are in the corridor, but this means that Jan can keep the supplies topped up and fresh. A jug of milk, not those silly plastic pots. A very wide selection of teas and coffee/chocolate and numerous biscuit bars and fruit. Breakfast in the conservatory is a delight with the view of the mountains. Ample parking. Very quiet. I can't think of anything that could improve our stay. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a lovely secluded B&B close to the Mournes & Newcastle. Really friendly and accommodation very comfortable. The annex is self-contained and therefore private.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughgoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was absolutly charmed by this b&b set in the most beautiful surrondings, the family so genually interested in us and helping us with our visit. never been offered such a variety of scumbshous breakfast choices. I had Jans poached eggs and muffins , it was a delight.
Thank you to Pam for her built in sat nav knowlegde.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews