We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a genuine Irish B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ended up, by chance, in Downpatrick pub in the evening and tried to get a room but it was full. The staff recommended this B&B and we turned up late after dinner, tired and just wanting bed. We were helped with our luggage (the first and only time it happened on our Irish trip) into a large, clean, comfortable and cosy room by the owners who took the time to show us the facilities, offer us tea/coffee and a chat but withdrew discreetly when we said we needed sleep. The next morning, after a shower in a spotless and well equipped bathroom, we sat down in a small, bright and airy dining/kitchen area and chatted to Angela while she prepared our breakfast to our order and it was big and good and not at all greasy like our previous B&B's. In a bit her husband Edmond and their son appeared and soon it was like having tea and good times with your family and friends so that before we knew it half the morning was gone. So this is what the real Ireland is all about! Highest recommendation. Lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was that of their daughter who is married and gone which explains the quality. Ask for that...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Delighted you were pleased with your welcome, accommodation and breakfast. We really enjoyed meeting you both and trust you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am sorry my stay was only for one night. Very friendly and helpful. Was picked up and taken to the bus. The house was well kept and I was made feel very welcome. I look forward to making a return visit and recommend this accommodation to any one looking for a clean friendly place to stay. A real Irish welcome awaits you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Margaret it was our pleasure to welcome you to our home. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Downpatrick and I hope you do visit us again when you have more time to visit the surrounding area and enjoy many of the local tourist attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed in this wonderfully clean and homely b&b for one night. on phoning to check about availability with extremely short notice (we were 5 minutes away) the reception i got was fantastic, after being given directions we arrived to angela the owner being outside to greet us which was lovely, her husband edmond is also lovely he was waiting to greet us also. the rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you could need in them, fresh towels, bottled water, magazines, hairdryer and toiletries. they also have wi-fi. angela and edmond are two of the nicest people i have met, very chatty, pleasant and helpful nothing was a bother to them. breakfast was fantastic with lots to choose from they have cereal, toast, croissants, fresh fruit and ofcourse a fry. i would highly recommend anyone to stay here and i would definately stay again. thankyou angela and edmond and best wishes for the future with your business

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aniska14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Many thanks for your comments. Edmund And I I were delighted to welcome you to our accommodation. We so enjoyed your family and look forward to you returning to Downpatrick when we can introduce you all to many of Northern Ireland's top tourist attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Two couples traveling together enjoyed the hospitality of Angela and Edmund in the well kept Downpatrick neighborhood. We enjoyed an "Ulster Fry" with one other guest as Angela gave us helpful tips on the area attractions. We had an overall wonderful stay and recommend this to any one looking for a comfortable stay in a modern, clean and warm guest home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Delighted that you were happy with your stay. it was a real pleasure to welcome,you to our accommodation. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you and and your friends to Downpatrick in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vally67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MuckyRamses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
0.5 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
277 reviews
10.8 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ballymote Country House
Ballymote Country House
#3 of 10 in Downpatrick
45 reviews
10.6 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Nine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Nine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Knockchree Road, Downpatrick BT30 6RP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range: $75 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation has a double en-suite or standard twin room which have a colour television; central heating; tea/coffee making facilities; free Wi-Fi and hair-dryer Guests will also have access to a residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number Nine Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Nine Bed And Breakfast Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing