We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Denvir's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denvir's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downpatrick
Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked for two nights, I must say was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. We had 2 doubles and a single and all were great value. Great friendly helpful staff and the bar area and food were fantastic. Close to everything, St Patricks Grave is at the top of the road. Nice thing was this place was always open when others were closed for the night. If you stay you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
22
38
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I liked this hotel as it was different to the usual corporate venues. It was very quint and different to the norm. The rooms were clean and affordable and the breakfast was lovely. Staff were very friendly. Would recommend staying here again.
Only downside is there is no parking so I had to park the car way up the street as there were 2 cars in the back already.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliejeh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here work a work commitment and was slightly dubious arriving and seeing a teeny car park out the side. I went inside to find a lack of reception desk Just the bar but was shown to my room (2) by a young girl and was delighted to find a somewhat quaint cosy room with a double bed and a single bed. One of the cosiest and nicest beds I've slept in lately! Was a little disappointed with the breakfast, it was served in the bar which I found odd. There was a very limited choice if like me you're not a fan of a fry. I ended up with just cereal and toast. Whereas pancakes would have been great! There was some confusion checking out but nothing that couldn't sorted. The room was quiet but be careful the toilet didn't flush properly at all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Organising a lunch for 16 can be tricky to ensure all tastes & budgets are catered for - Denvir's made it easy from 1st contact to menu options, food quality and customer service. All were impressed and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ballyhalbertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I took my daughters for dinner in Denvirs restaurant. I found the whole experience to be very good. It has the feeling of a family run business. The Panna Cotta desert is fabulous. Great value for money. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dollies03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Have enjoyed a weekend break at Denvir's and it is to meet family, and have to say have had a first class experience, the staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble the rooms were well appointed and clean, which was enough for the price but then you factor in the breakfast which was beautiful and the other food which can be ordered which was world class and grace any top hotel. And to top it off the crack in the bar yes we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slim20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed in Denvir's last weekend to meet up with some friends from university. We had heard a lot of good reviews from a friend from the area so we decided to give it a go.
We arrived around 4 and parked in the off street parking. We went into the bar and ordered drinks and some dinner. The food was delicious and portions were a good size, we were too full for dessert!
We then checked in and went upstairs to our rooms. We stayed in rooms 5 & 6 which were two twin bedrooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well presented.The girl who showed us to our room was very friendly and told us a bit about the history of the place.
Around 9 that night went down to the bar which was packed. We ordered drinks, I had a cocktail from the cocktail menu which were very reasonably priced. We finished up and moved around the other bars around the town.
That night when we returned to the hotel it was very quiet. There was no noise from other guests and no noise from traffic outside so we had a great nights sleep. The next morning we had full Irish breakfasts, which were very large and even a struggle for the boys to finish.
Overall we had a great stay in Denvirs, the food was great, rooms were lovely and staff were friendly. Denvir's will definitely be our first choice if staying again in Downpatrick again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaurenMarie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
10.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
7.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
10.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denvir's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denvir's Hotel

Property: Denvir's Hotel
Address: 14-16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country home away from home! Established in 1642, Denvir's Hotel is steeped in history and is the perfect setting for a relaxing break. Offering old world charm in the heart of Downpatrick, Denvir's has a long tradition of sheltering travellers and will endeavour to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one. Now part of the award winning Botanic Inns group, Denvir’s is the oldest surviving coaching inn in Ireland and is now a grade ‘A’ listed building. The building itself has been extensively and sympathetically renovated while retaining its original character. With six attractive and beautifully restored bedrooms, a restaurant, lounge and snug bars as well as two function rooms for hire; there are many reasons to visit Denvir’s. All of Downpatrick's best historical attractions are located on the same road as Denvirs. St Patricks Grave, The Catherdral and the Gaol are all located on English Street. So we're in the heart of the action! We look forward to welcoming you to Denvir's Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Denvir's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denvirs Hotel Downpatrick
Denvir's Hotel Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing