We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!”
Review of The River Mill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Mill B&B
Ranked #7 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed two nights. We arrived after dark but our hosts' directions were very good - it is about 4 miles south of Downpatrick. There is no identifying sign outside but it was easy to recognise from their website. It is a beautiful B&B - a complete renovation of a 300 year old mill. The inside is spotlessly clean and tastefully, simply decorated. Our room and bathroom were large. Queen size bed with comfy bed linens, firm mattress (too firm for me but just right for my husband). We had our own entrance from the outside. Parking was right outside our door. Our hosts were welcoming, kind and had a lot of helpful information about the area. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and even included a nice view of the countryside. It was a great base for our weekend adventures - Mourne Mountains, Downpatrick, Castle Ward. It is a 5 minute drive to Ardglass where our hosts suggested a terrific pub (Old Commercial) and an outstanding restaurant (Aldo's).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcm4adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for you brilliant review of The River Mill we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. You will always be welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, superb breakfast and great value - what more could you ask for? A beautifully renovated building, breakfast served upstairs on the mezzanine, most mornings I opened the balcony door just to breathe in the peace and quiet whilst the teenagers dragged themselves out of bed. Teresa and Aiden kindly 'bespoked' breakfast for everyone, catering for a range of fussy tastes. We were able to bring a takeaway meal back one night and it wasn't a problem.

A family wedding meant that we had a range of needs including hairdresser, taxis etc and our kind hosts helped in advance with suggestions for everything.

My daughter and I occupied one of the larger ground flor rooms with large shower room and own access, which was a boon given circumstances of the trip. My teenage son and daughter's boyfriend each had their own rooms upstairs each with en-suite, just perfect for their needs.

A very busy trip for us with much driving up and down to Belfast visiting family but I got the sense that this would have been a great base for a relaxing holiday. If we get the chance of such a holiday The River Mill will be top of the list for a wee return visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank MsG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have been lucky enough to stay in some wonderful B & Bs, it will be very difficult to beat this beautiful place. The renovated mill is exceptional in every regard. Quiet, able to sleep peacefully in preparation for the touring ahead. The "Road" in we found interesting and quaint, makes one know they're in Ireland. The hosts were friendly, nice people to talk to, informative and the place is perfect for touring the St Patrick area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your amazing review we appreciate it and you will be most welcome to return to The River Mill anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Delayed review as my wife and I stayed here on 2nd July while visiting relatives locally. There are many exceptional thing about The River Mill. Firstly the renovation and sympathetic conversion of what was clearly a very run down Mill has resulted in an imaginative home in a peaceful and to my eyes romantic location. Secondly Aiden who was on his own was one of the most welcoming hosts we have ever encountered. We enjoyed hearing about his role in "The Shore" a much praised short film shot locally. He even gave us a DVD copy as a present! Our large room was on the ground floor with our own access and key. Breakfast was as described in other reviews. We like to think we left as friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at The River Mill. We take great pleasure in the fact that The Shore film was filmed nearby and that we had a part to play in the making of it. Great compliments about the breakfasts too. You are welcome back anytime. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The owners of The River Mill are two really nice people. So accommodating and just down right decent folk. We were attending a wedding at another venue. We were given our own key to a private door to our room. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely finished. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The River Mill. Thank you for your terrific endorsement.
It was a pleasure to have you to stay please come back again you will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at The River Mill. Theresa & Aiden could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and the room comfortable and tastefully decorated. Definitely worth the 5*.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ-RJ-019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for you amazing review. It was terrific that you enjoyed your visit on such an important and memorable occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay at The River Mill hope to see you again you will always be welcome..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Four of us stayed at The River Mill for one night on route to a diamond wedding anniversary celebration. I can highly recommend this B & B set in a lovely peaceful location. The mill has been sympathetically restored and is absolutely stunning. Aidan was vey accommodating and even ran us down to the local restaurant Aldos (lovely food). Teresa's breakfast was delicious as we sat up in the loft. We were made to feel most welcome. A definite must to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

That is a wonderful compliment to say The River Mill is a Jewel in the North thank you so much.It was great to have you to stay here a The River Mill we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay and write such a fantastic review. We look forward to you visiting again, you are most welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
3.8 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
279 reviews
3.4 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ballymote Country House
Ballymote Country House
#4 of 10 in Downpatrick
45 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nutgrove House
Nutgrove House
#6 of 10 in Downpatrick
17 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Mill B&B

Address: 43 Ballyclander Road | Ardglass, Downpatrick BT30 7DE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range: $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent newly restored Mill - a hidden treasure in the heart of Co. Down Ireland.The River Mill is situated in the countryside 2 miles from Ardglass in St Patrick’s Country. Television tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Historic & Ancient sites. Restaurants and golf courses. Herbal Healing Clinic on doorstep. 45 minutes from George Best City Airport, 75mins from Belfast International Airport, 2 hours from Dublin. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The River Mill B&B Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing