We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Tranquility”
Review of The River Mill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Mill B&B
Ranked #7 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful Tranquility”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from having an Easter break at The River Mill, what can we say we absolutely loved it, the peace and tranquility was just what we were looking for.
Perfectly rounded off with our wonderful hosts Theresa and Aidan who made us very welcome, and made us feel like it was our home as well.
You have a wonderful home and we look forward to coming back in the near future, we miss you already !!

Room Tip: Ladies even a Hair dryer supplied !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for The River Mill.
It is great that you enjoyed you stay with us and to relax and have a rest. It was a delight to have you to stay and you are welcome to come back again any time to explore more of Co Down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This beautiful B&B is run by a really wonderful couple. Our party of four arrived during the recent blizzards and they were so helpful - getting us through the snowdrifts to a wedding in Downpatrick. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious - enjoyed in a lovely mezzanine room which overlooks the countryside around the mill. Bedrooms were chic and spotless. Had a lovely dinner in nearby Ardglass the night we arrived - the River Mill is a great, restful base from which to explore the surrounding area. Thanks so much to Aidan and Theresa.

Room Tip: Very big doubles on ground floor, and two small doubles on the upper floor - but still perfectly fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naiomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
How very kind of you to write such a wonderful review. We were more than delighted to help you with transfers and local information. Thank you for taking the time to do a review and give The River Mill your positive endorsement. We hope you can come back again to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a lovely experience! This is thetextbook example of how to run the perfect B&B! It was so nice to stay with a couple who genuinely care about offering the best possible guest experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone who was staying in the area and I truely hope that I will get an opportunity to stay at the River Mill again.

James Browne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for a terrific review it was a pleasure to have you to stay here with us at The River Mill. We hope you can return you will be most welcome.
Good luck with all your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

"Excellent" is a word which, over time, has lost some of its meaning, with modern superlatives tending to edge this rather old-fashioned description into the shade. Well, this B&B was truly excellent on every level whether by modern or any other standards. Van the Man might as well have crooned "Mammy never told me there'd be B&B's like this just round the corner from Coney Island, cus if she had I'd never have gone back home".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for an amazing review and for your kind words and endorsment of The River Mill. We hope you will return very soon you will be most welcome.
Ardglass, Coney Island, Killough, Strangford, Ballyhornan in fact the whole of the Lecale area of Co Down is a very special place to visit, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Three of us were over in Downpatrick for a family celebration and we were recommended the River Mill as a place to stay for 3 nights. We were greeted with a good old cup of tea, biscuits and a lovely chat! The River Mill is such a gorgeous building with plenty of character and set away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfasts were more than enough, with a wide selection whatever your needs and the amazing hospitality of the owners Theresa and Aidan, this is the only place I'll be staying when I'm over again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelCusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was a joy to have you to stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed The River Mill and our breakfasts. It would be a pleasure to have you to stay again and we wish you all the best for the future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Came upon this B & B accidentally whilst booking a trip to N.Ireland for a wedding. The venue was such a delight we wish we could have stayed longer. Theresa and Aidan have created a haven of peace and tranquility with attention to detail to ensure the comfort of their guests. The cleanliness and decor were of the highest quality and our hosts provided an excellent breakfast as well as helpful advice regarding our travel options. Thoroughly recommend this idylic b & b to all who like their comforts in beautiful surroundings. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind and encouraging comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Ireland. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at The River Mill and we do hope that you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you're looking for a great place to spend a few, relaxing days with great scenery, be sure to check out The River Mill B&B. The two days I stayed there were the best days of my visit to Ireland. The owners, Theresa and Aidan McAteer, converted a 1700's mill into an amazing B&B and their hospitality was superb.

Charlotte B. Teagle
U.S.A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of The River Mill.
It was a total pleasure to have you to stay and we hope you will return to Co Down again in the future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
3.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
8.1 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burford Lodge Guest House
3.0 mi away
Ringfad B & B
Ringfad B & B
#2 of 3 in Ardglass
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Mill B&B

Property: The River Mill B&B
Address: 43 Ballyclander Road | Ardglass, Downpatrick BT30 7DE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent newly restored Mill - a hidden treasure in the heart of Co. Down Ireland.The River Mill is situated in the countryside 2 miles from Ardglass in St Patrick’s Country. Television tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Historic & Ancient sites. Restaurants and golf courses. Herbal Healing Clinic on doorstep. 45 minutes from George Best City Airport, 75mins from Belfast International Airport, 2 hours from Dublin. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The River Mill B&B Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing