We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing”
Review of The River Mill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Mill B&B
Ranked #7 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Rugby
1 review
“Truly amazing”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Came upon this B & B accidentally whilst booking a trip to N.Ireland for a wedding. The venue was such a delight we wish we could have stayed longer. Theresa and Aidan have created a haven of peace and tranquility with attention to detail to ensure the comfort of their guests. The cleanliness and decor were of the highest quality and our hosts provided an excellent breakfast as well as helpful advice regarding our travel options. Thoroughly recommend this idylic b & b to all who like their comforts in beautiful surroundings. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind and encouraging comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Ireland. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at The River Mill and we do hope that you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you're looking for a great place to spend a few, relaxing days with great scenery, be sure to check out The River Mill B&B. The two days I stayed there were the best days of my visit to Ireland. The owners, Theresa and Aidan McAteer, converted a 1700's mill into an amazing B&B and their hospitality was superb.

Charlotte B. Teagle
U.S.A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of The River Mill.
It was a total pleasure to have you to stay and we hope you will return to Co Down again in the future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great clean and roomy rooms, ensuite bathroom ( with wet room!!) helpful and lovely hosts to boot. Breakfasts were lovely. Good value for money. Aiden can also organise lifts and pick up so contact prior to staying if not in a car. Very helpful and made our stay so much more relaxed as a result.

Room Tip: try the potato bread! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a terrific review. Your positive endorsment and information for other guests is a most welcome addition to our reviews.
Thank you we hope you will return again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights (only meant to stay for 1 but couldn't tear ourselves away) and I can't say enough good things about this place! A beautiful building, great hosts, lovely rooms, delicious breakfast, excellent value for money. I've been in many hotels in many countries, but I have never stayed in a cleaner place, you could literally eat off the floor (if that takes your fancy!).Teresa and Aidan have done a wonderful job restoring this beautiful old mill . Ask where they got the lovely wrought iron chairs in the rooms..!
My only concern in recommending this place so highly is that it won't stay a hidden gem for long, and I may not find it as easy to get a room next time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EilNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for a terrific review and the tremendous endoresment. We are delighted you had a great stay with us. Please do come back again you will be welcome anytime. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ok this place is a little of the normal path but it's well worth the stay. Make sure to call and get verbal directions because our GPS had us in a different place. The breakfast was unbelievable. We enjoyed the hosts and the rooms were beautiful. Super great place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
What a great review! Thank you so so much.
It was a pleasure to have you to stay. We are delight you enjoyed your breakfast so much and the time you spent at The River Mill.
We are aware of the problem with some GPS systems. So you are absolutely right to advise other guests to follow the directions that we supply with each booking.
Once again many thanks and we hope you can return again to Co Down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's a bit hard to find, even with GPS because it's kind of in the middle of a field :-) So don't even consider it if you don't have a car. Very pretty b&b, nice room design, caring owners - welcoming cup of tea/coffee with a muffin was a good bonus. Our room had exit straight to the street which was great, because we came back after party and wouldn't be great to awake all the house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
We are aware of the problem with some GPS systems which is why we supply directions with each booking and offer transfers.
You are welcome back anytime and once again thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed only one night at this b&b and were very happy with the entire experience. It was a little hard to find but well worth it. It was down a narrow country road but no traffic.

We were greeted on arrival by the owners with beautiful scones and tea. We stayed on the bottom floor in a very large bedroom and "wet" room.

Breakfast was great with homemade produce. The hosts have spent a lot of time on renovating the old mill and have done a great job. Very accommodating hosts who also recommended a local pub nearby for dinner that night as we had had a very long day. The dinner at the pub was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teebee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
What a fantastic review thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the homecooking. It was a pleasure to have you to stay hopefully you will return again to Co .Down you are welcome back anytime. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
3.7 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
8.1 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burford Lodge Guest House
3.0 mi away
Ringfad B & B
Ringfad B & B
#2 of 3 in Ardglass
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Mill B&B

Property: The River Mill B&B
Address: 43 Ballyclander Road | Ardglass, Downpatrick BT30 7DE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent newly restored Mill - a hidden treasure in the heart of Co. Down Ireland.The River Mill is situated in the countryside 2 miles from Ardglass in St Patrick’s Country. Television tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Historic & Ancient sites. Restaurants and golf courses. Herbal Healing Clinic on doorstep. 45 minutes from George Best City Airport, 75mins from Belfast International Airport, 2 hours from Dublin. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The River Mill B&B Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing