We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymote Country House
Ranked #4 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Nicola and James have a beautiful home and made us feel so welcome (as did Damm and Dash, their two adorable dogs). The bedrooms were furnished with lovely antiques and the beds were extremely comfortable. We were offered tea in the drawing room when we arrived. Nicola cooked a delicious breakfast which included a variety of fresh breads, cereals and fruit followed by a wonderful cooked breakfast all served in the beautiful dining room complete with log fire. Nicola and James ensured that we had a wonderful couple of days staying in their lovely home and were themselves fun and interesting. I would recommend Ballymote to anyone wanting to experience a really beautiful country house in Northern Ireland.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the lovely review. James particularly enjoyed meeting your father – and Damm and Dash of course just love meeting everybody!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

A charming country house with comfortable rooms with a superb breakfast Nicola and James both go out of their way to make guests to feel at home. This is more than just somewhere to sleep; it is a place to enjoy a conversation with the hosts. We only stayed one night and wished we had booked for longer. Highly recommended. The dogs are lovely too.

Clare and Ben Thomas

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beetee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review and we really enjoyed having you to stay. We are so lucky we get particularly interesting guests from all over the place and have learned so much from them. We feel as if we have travelled the world just talking to them! Damm and Dash also enjoy having all the visitors, more people to pat and spoil them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a lovely few days at Nicola and James' unique country house. They are wonderfully friendly hosts who encourage guests to treat the house and grounds as a home from home. Breakfast was wonderful with different home made or local produce on offer each day, all served in a beautifully elegant dining room. We would thoroughly recommend a stay, with plenty to visit in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we love sharing Ballymote with all our visitors and it makes us look at what we are so lucky to have with fresh eyes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A charming country house which is home to Nicola and James and family. So very friendly and especially charming to be able to meet their animals including newly hatched chicks. Nicola's breakfasts are to die for - home produced food served to your own requirements. So much choice!
James provides excellent advice on where to visit.
You won't find a better country house experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! The chicks are growing very fast getting ready to lay lots more blue eggs (Arucuna) for the guests to enjoy at breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Calling Ballymote House a 'farm,' as was done by a previous reviewer, is like calling a Westin Hotel a B&B. The owners of Ballymote House believe in a lifestyle that revives the traditions of the past. Nicola was raised in the area at a country house which was self-sustaining. She keeps a garden with fruit trees, from which she produces amazing jams (cherry-chocolate), and chickens to supply fresh eggs for breafast. James manages their woodlands, with the help of his son and a draft horse, for use by pheasant hunters. Staying at Ballymote House makes you feel like the clock has been turned back, which does not mean any modern amenity is missing. We had tea in the drawing room when we arrived, the bedroom was clean and comfortably heated, and breakfast was beautifully served in a pleasant dining room. Both James and Nicola can provide a wealth of information about the area, Irish history and customs, and almost anything else you want to know. Staying at Ballymote House was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review! Aren't we lucky to have this lifestyle, and we love sharing it with our guests, especially when they "get" it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Ballymote for a weekend break. The room was clean and well laid out. However, the house is part of a farm and the night was over once the cockrel woke up. Also be aware there are two dogs living in the house. One was licking my hand at the breakfast table which I find unacceptable. The owners are friendly and very sociable. Overall I left there thinking for this sort of money I could have done better.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank shlomo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

I'm so sorry you didn't appreciate the dogs and hens during your stay, but glad you enjoyed our company and the house.

We do try and persuade guests not to feed Damm and Dash under the table however they have learnt that many guests are extremely soft touches, and they do live in hope! If people do not like dogs I will of course lock them up.

Unfortunately we have no control over the cockerel's timeclock! This was rather mucked up with the change to Winter daylight saving times, but I am glad to say he now seems to have settled back into starting his day at a more civilised hour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Ireland. What an amazing experience it was! Nicola & James are fantastic hosts and we didn't want for a thing. From the welcome tea and biscuits to our introduction to Irish breakfasts, everything was perfect. We can't say enough wonderful things about Ballymote. It gets our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
2.2 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
9.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
10.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
24.6 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Rostrevor
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymote Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymote Country House

Address: 84 Killough Road, Downpatrick BT30 8BJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range: $123 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballymote Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Hidden treasure....a real find" Irish Times Not just 'a country house' this is our family home. We are delighted to extend its warmth to all our visitors from Ireland and around the world. Ballymote delights in continuing the best of that renowned country house tradition, informal and apparently effortless hospitality. We understand just how valuable our guests' free time is with today's hectic way of life. That's why, from the moment you arrive, we make sure the outside world feels a world away. Ballymote is as restful, or as relaxingly active, as you want it to be. Your only decision will be how you want to enjoy yourself next! "No where nicer than Ballymote...... Resplendent, elegantly faded charm, blissful beds and great cooking from Nicola are the Ballymote signatures". 100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Bridgestone Guide. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts; apart from the de rigeur Ulster fry (ours has sausages made by a local butcher to our family recipe and 8 or so other things on the platter) we offer homemade jams, (3 or 4 different types), local honey, fruit from the garden and masses of other delicious things. It will set you up for a day of exploring! One of the many extraordinary things about County Down is the extraordinary amount it offers for visitors to do! But never forget that while at Ballymote, simply doing nothing is as good a way to pass your time as any! We are in the heart of St. Patrick's country; it is an ideal base for exploring one of the most historically and culturally rich parts of Ireland, with wonderful gardens, challenging world renowned links golf courses, spectacular mountains, deserted coastline and unspoilt countryside for walking and horse riding. Come and experience it ... relax, enjoy, above all make yourself at home! Ballymote..... Enthusiastically dedicated to your relaxation. James and Nicola Manningham-Buller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballymote Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymote Country House Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing