We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballymote Country House
Nearby Hotels
Nutgrove House(Downpatrick)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Denvir's Hotel(Downpatrick)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Portaferry Hotel(Portaferry)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch School B&B(Downpatrick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
39
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry housetea and biscuitshomely atmosphereshower attachmentheavy curtainsgiant bathroom cosysash windowsselection of cerealsyogurtnorthern irelandb bsnicoladogsantiqueshostschances
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a lovely few days at Nicola and James' unique country house. They are wonderfully friendly hosts who encourage guests to treat the house and grounds as a home from home. Breakfast was wonderful with different home made or local produce on offer each day, all served in a beautifully elegant dining room. We would thoroughly recommend a stay, with plenty to visit in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we love sharing Ballymote with all our visitors and it makes us look at what we are so lucky to have with fresh eyes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A charming country house which is home to Nicola and James and family. So very friendly and especially charming to be able to meet their animals including newly hatched chicks. Nicola's breakfasts are to die for - home produced food served to your own requirements. So much choice!
James provides excellent advice on where to visit.
You won't find a better country house experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! The chicks are growing very fast getting ready to lay lots more blue eggs (Arucuna) for the guests to enjoy at breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Calling Ballymote House a 'farm,' as was done by a previous reviewer, is like calling a Westin Hotel a B&B. The owners of Ballymote House believe in a lifestyle that revives the traditions of the past. Nicola was raised in the area at a country house which was self-sustaining. She keeps a garden with fruit trees, from which she produces amazing jams (cherry-chocolate), and chickens to supply fresh eggs for breafast. James manages their woodlands, with the help of his son and a draft horse, for use by pheasant hunters. Staying at Ballymote House makes you feel like the clock has been turned back, which does not mean any modern amenity is missing. We had tea in the drawing room when we arrived, the bedroom was clean and comfortably heated, and breakfast was beautifully served in a pleasant dining room. Both James and Nicola can provide a wealth of information about the area, Irish history and customs, and almost anything else you want to know. Staying at Ballymote House was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review! Aren't we lucky to have this lifestyle, and we love sharing it with our guests, especially when they "get" it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Ballymote for a weekend break. The room was clean and well laid out. However, the house is part of a farm and the night was over once the cockrel woke up. Also be aware there are two dogs living in the house. One was licking my hand at the breakfast table which I find unacceptable. The owners are friendly and very sociable. Overall I left there thinking for this sort of money I could have done better.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank shlomo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

I'm so sorry you didn't appreciate the dogs and hens during your stay, but glad you enjoyed our company and the house.

We do try and persuade guests not to feed Damm and Dash under the table however they have learnt that many guests are extremely soft touches, and they do live in hope! If people do not like dogs I will of course lock them up.

Unfortunately we have no control over the cockerel's timeclock! This was rather mucked up with the change to Winter daylight saving times, but I am glad to say he now seems to have settled back into starting his day at a more civilised hour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Ireland. What an amazing experience it was! Nicola & James are fantastic hosts and we didn't want for a thing. From the welcome tea and biscuits to our introduction to Irish breakfasts, everything was perfect. We can't say enough wonderful things about Ballymote. It gets our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews