We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Ranked #3 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had lunch today at The Mill, the food as usual was fantastic, plenty of flavours, well cooked and presented. Service very good and staff are very friendly. Elaine's a sweetheart. The building has been lovingly restored by the owner Noel who is busy renovating part of the old mill to be living quarters for him and his wife Joan. An excellent location for weddings etc.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Post S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mill at Ballydugan was the highlight of our stays. The charm and character could not be beat. The host, Mary was kind, caring, and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Late night conversations with employee Maureen about Ireland and it's history only added to the experience. One truly feels as if you were traveling back in time. Very close to town and the countryside is beautiful. The rooms were well equipped, spacious, and had created a "home feeling."

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a lovely time at the mill this are second time we have stopped there and had thourghly enjoyed our stay . Food was excellent ,the rooms lovely and clean and the people very helpful and kind. Hope to go back soon. Have recommended it to our friends and family. Jane Shropshire

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We got married at the mill last june and have just spent our wedding anniversary there. We cant put into words how wonderful all our experiences at the mill have been. The owners and staff are always very welcoming and cant do enough to help you.
The food is delicious and like the rooms is very resonably priced. We wouldnt hesitate to recommend the mill to anyone looking to have a relaxed break, sunday lunch or a fabulous wedding. We will definitely be back! Thankyou.

Room Tip: We love the ground floor of The Granary. Its spacious living room is perfect for relaxing and watchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawebb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were at a wedding there yesterday and can't recommend it highly enough. It's a fabulous venue with excellent friendly service and great food and superb accommodation. We hope be back there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hnnyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is beautiful & in lovely grounds. The rooms were very clean, but a little cold, & there were no spare blankets or anything in the room so would advise if you are staying to take warm sleeping clothes! I was recently there for a friends wedding, & the wedding meal was superb, so I had high expectations for my breakfast the next morning but it was a let down!! The cooked breakfast was extremely poor, consisting of 1 rasher bacon, 1 egg, 1 sausage, 4 mushrooms & a quarter of soda bread. Considering it costs £80 for 1 night b & b & is in Ireland, I was expecting a good Irish breakfast including potato bread, & a little more than 1 of everything else. Originally from Ireland I was looking forward to my Irish fry, so was bitterly disappointed.

Room Tip: End rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAZOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

loved the Mill from the first time we saw it - but the service and food on our wedding day surpassed all expectations. We wanted relaxed, friendly but beautiful and good food - and Maureen, Mary and all made it happen - they seemed to guess what we wanted and had it done before we asked. Our guests loved it - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
1.9 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
9.5 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
348 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
22.4 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
8.7 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing