We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best short break ever !”

Castlewellan Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best short break ever !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here as had been recommended it by friends.
It was brilliant !
My only negative is the showets could of been cleaner and as previous visitor had said maybe a vending machine would be beneficial, meaning you wouldnt have to leave the park.
Cant wait to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank siobhanw34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    70
    19
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great mountain bike trails, but at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my first visit to the forest park, and I was impressed. The mountain bike trail was great, quite challenging but do able. Staff were welcoming, very friendly and the bikes are very good. There are showers available, it can be quite muddy in parts, free lockers for valuables, and a hot drink afterwards. The only down side was the price. I went with my 13 year old son, we got there about 12ish, and for 3 hours for the 2 of us was £46. Definitely a one off at that price. There are cheaper options available, i.e. if you can be finished by 12.30 it's half price, but not everyone can be there by 9.30am. If they sort the pricing out, I'll definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very nice walk of lake and maze is great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The 3.8 km walk around the lake is very peaceful and it's interesting to see all the different types of tree's of the forest. There is loads of parking available. £4.50 per car to enter the park.
The Peace Maze is a proper challenge, and loads of fun. We spent a lot of time watching other people getting lost, then we became those lost people. That's karma for laughing at others.
Family friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeaverandLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this place if you can, poor staff, run down badly!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have been going to castlwellan to caravan for a couple of years now and the place is steadily getting more run down and disapointing. The forest ranger has an attitude problem and the staff are totally unhelpful. Castle, a no go area and gardens a mess. This is the only place you can't even light a camp fire. Avoid if you can!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank caracamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromara, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First camping experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose Castlewellan as our first campsite due to the fact that the park itself is beautiful and is very good for young children to both walk and cycle around. The lake is safe for kayaking and is very picturesque on a nice day. We didn't use the coffee shop so cannot comment on it.

The area in which to camp is spacious. The toilet facilities are clean but pretty basic (some soap would have been very helpful and more bins).

We camped over a weekend and were so very disappointed as on both nights we didn't get very much sleep as many of the campers surrounding us were not there for family time but to sit up and annoy everyone else until 3am! We had to contact the security people who did respond and drive around but unfortunately did not put a stop to the rowdies! They did however have a word the next morning but was a few hours too late. It would be a very good idea if the camping area was divided and had an area for families.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sims72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castlewellan Forest Park also viewed

Castlewellan, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Castlewellan Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing