We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourists welcome??”

Castlewellan Forest Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tourists welcome??”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A lovely Forest Park well worth visiting, so don't let the vast number Irish Republic flags hanging off every lamp post in this beautiful town intimidate you and prevent you from stopping - as it nearly did with us! We visited on Easter Sunday and unbelievedly we were not allowed to take our car into the park due to 1 inch of rapidly "thawing" snow on the sunny car park. There was no snow whatsover on the roads in and out. Health and Safety gone mad!

Despite all these "tourists unwelcome" vibes, we perservered and were duely rewarded. First of all we visited the Hedge Maze (they call it the Peace Maze!). Without the assistance of some other kind visitors to help us get out of the maze, we might still be there today! (Joke!). The maze is about the size of a football pitch and is a terrific attraction and will provide you and your family with lots of fun - just make sure you have someone on the "overlooking bridge" to guide you out! Then we had a walk around the lake - the path is relatively flat all the way around with lovely views and plenty of seats / picnic tables all the way - it took us about an hour walking around the lake at a gentle pace, stopping every so often to take photographs.

We could have murdered a cup of tea at the end of our walk around the lake, but guess what - the cafe was closed! We didn't chance walking up the hill to the impressive looking Annesley House as no doubt that would have been closed as well! Despite everything, I would give the Castlewellan Forest Park a 5 star rating, if only for the potential it has.

Tourists, don't be put off by Castlewellan's apparent unability to promote itself!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diolchynfawriawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    71
    19
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been coming here for years and not only for the day but also for weekends camping

The walks are amazing and great rest stops along the way were you can sit and relax and enjoy a book or chat. Great photographic opportunities and also different levels of walks and treks. I also noticed they are developing a path for mountain biking. Although not currently opened as yet.

Toilet facilities are lovely and clean including the mens - which my husband actually commented on.

The peace maze is another lovely feature and great too keep the kids amused. As you walk around the peace maze there are lovely views of the mourne mountains

Regarding the camp site there is great areas for caravans and also a vast space for tents. Although they only offer a min of two night stays so may not be a great stop if you are doing alot of travelling. The cost is now £16.50 for a tent no electric per night - which I think is reasonable compared too other sites. Good facilities for washing clothes, also sinks for dishes and they have showers and toilet blocks. The toilet blocks and shower areas are very clean early in the morning and later afternoon but they do get busy and I have too admit I always wear flip flops just too make me feel better.

All in all a great place too visit and stay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank drumtaratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place?”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This park is lovely, wild, It has a fairytale castle, stunning gardens, beautiful lake and magnificent peace maze. Lake walk riddled with art, spot the otters but you must climb the (not so massive), Slievenaslat mountain for the most stunning views of the Mourne Mountains, Dundrum Bay and the lovely County Down and beyond. A good wheelchair can get to all of these.
See Narnia as it really is!
J Lennon
York

Helpful?
Thank JMLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Forest walks”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very isolated and such quiet peaceful location not as popular as Tollymore but equally as beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“camping”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

great place to relax and great spot for an overnight camp great walks around the lake and very easy access to the town if you want a takeaway

Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castlewellan Forest Park also viewed

Castlewellan, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Castlewellan Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing