We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place right next to mountain bike trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillyard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlewellan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillyard House
Ranked #3 of 4 Castlewellan B&B and Inns
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fab place right next to mountain bike trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two separate nights in the past week - our first night arriving very early from Canada and they immediately gave us our room so we could have a bit of nap and get out on the trails. And then again last night as we came through Castlewellan a second time. Nothing was too much trouble. Three cheers for Dominic, Stephen and Marie - superb service, always helpful. Perfect location right next to some of the best roller-coaster mountain bike trails and a wonderful breakfast each morning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtmh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Myself and a number of cycling friends from the Phoenix Cycling Club in Belfast have often dropped into the Hillyard when we are doing a run through the Mournes. The sign outside says 'cyclists welcome' and it does exactly what is says on the tin! A couple of months ago we arrived in soaked through after a heavy shower. Dominic disappeared and came back a few minutes later with an armful of freshly laundered white towels. A really nice touch.
When we were back in on Saturday morning the 'make over' was complete and we ordered a very reasonably priced breakfast from the counter. The staff, as always were very friendly and very helpful. We took a seat out in the sunny courtyard while the staff brought teas, coffees and food out. Refills were provided on a regular basis and with our water bottles replenished we were on our way back to Belfast a contented bunch.
So whether you are on two wheels, four, or just walking you shouldn't pass through Castlewellan without giving the Hillyard a try. With the refreshing new decor, a very welcoming and attentive service and great food reasonably priced, you won't be disappointed. We haven't yet and we've been there regularly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athlone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very clean and tidy.Our room was quite large and spacious with a toilet and shower separate (although the toilet was big the shower was quite tight). Right in middle of town. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was very tasty although only served from 9am. Absolutely beautiful location right at the gates of castlewellan forest park.

Room Tip: Our family room was room #8 and was on 2nd floor. Lift only services up to 1st level so be careful i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Was staying here as near to conference I was attending. It is a guest house but the service and friendliness of the manager and staff would put some of the big hotels to shame. A real lesson in customer service and it shows. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was great, good size portions and well cooked. The room seemed very clean and the beds comfortable,even the (slightly dated) furniture was perfectly functional.
Unfortunately on my last night I dropped my pen down between the bed and side table and.... Well it was a bit of out of sight out of mind. There were biscuit crumbs and even a jelly sweet down the side and underneath the bed apron, none of which I was eating. Perhaps in future u should pull out the bed from the table and properly hoover. Its the little things like that which could lose customers.
All that said I did enjoy my short stay and if they just pay a little more attention to those little things this would be a first class establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearlgirlBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I was over for my mother's funeral and everyone of the staff here were superb. Dominic did everything thing possible to make a difficult time very comfortable and the service at the funeral reception was incredible. Stephen could not have done any more for us and was just brilliant. The food is excellent, the flexibility of the team to ensure your stay was very comfortable was amazing. This is a wonderful place to stay in the best wee town in Ireland! Just ask our wee westie, Finbar. Hillyard House is all that Ireland is about! Thanks guys!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our Walking Club, The "J" Walkers had a meal last Sunday in Hillyard House after a very wet walk in Tollymore Forest. We were all made very welcome by Dominic and Marie who provided all with a delicious meal, especially the steaks and the fish. Nothing was any bother to the staff and it ended a very wet day on a high note. We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Was over in Castlewellan staying at Hillyard House last week, I genuinely couldn't fault it! The hospitality was second to none and Dominic and Stephen couldn't do enough for us! The function on Tuesday was also lovely, the stuff really went above and beyond to make sure all the guests were catered for! The location is also amazing, just outside Castlewellan forest park and in view of the coast and the Mourne Mountains, you couldn't ask for more! I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlewellan
2.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.7 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillyard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillyard House

Property: Hillyard House
Address: 1-5 Castle Avenue, Castlewellan BT31 9DX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Castlewellan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlewellan
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hillyard House Castlewellan, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing