We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fine eating experience”
Review of Stonebridge Restaurant Richhill - CLOSED

Stonebridge Restaurant Richhill
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Original Stonebridge restaurant in Richhill, Co Armagh and now under the new managment of Botanic Inns.
Wallasey, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another fine eating experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was in a large group celebrating an elderly persons birthday this weekend. We were all very impressed with this restaurant. They fed us downstairs so that going upstairs where the main seating area is located was unnecessary. Cutlery and glasses were clean. The service was quiet, efficient and discrete, the staff lovely. The food was presented in a relaxed manner and there was plenty of time between courses so that the company could chatter away without pressure.

The menu was well organised and varied with something for everyone, without trying to be too adventurous. The quality of the food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Prices are very reasonable, for food and wine. I might have wished for a slightly wider choice of wines, but those we had from towards the upper end of the cost range were excellent.

All in all I would say that this establishment deserves its third place on the Armagh league table and indeed may well deserve to be higher.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family dining with singular service”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fourteen of us gathered at Stonebridge last Saturday to celebrate our mother's 89th birthday. I was very pleasantly surprised at the high standard of food, the friendly and professional service and the attention given to our table despite the demands made on staff by the presence of another large party. I would without hesitation recommend this restaurant and I look forward to returning on my next visit to Armagh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finnogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didnt fail to please.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked a large table for a birthday party and where adviced to stick with a set menu as we had so many people this was fine with use as they gave us a good choice with a meal that would do everyone except one so after a phone call they where more than happy to do something seperate for this one person. When we arrive we where pleased to be told we had the small private area down stairs to ourselves as we had so many people. Service was fantastic Kids where well catered for. they where brought pages from a colouring book and crayons and a little plate of cookies to keep them happy till the meals all arrives. couldnt have been any more perfect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum-of-5-rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Found this Restaurant a couple of weeks ago on the Portadown to Armagh rd.Asked friends about it and they recommended we visit. Good Atmosphere, friendly staff, Good Food, reasonable prices what more can you want.??
We had the Sunday Carvery but there is a wide selection of food available
They are closed on a Monday but open all other days for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Stonebridge is an imposing looking well branded restaurant which might lead one to suppose that the food on offer is of a higher standard than your everyday eatery. Unfortunately the food is decidedly average. My companions both had tasty tomato and pepper soup which came with lots of bread (a real plus – a lot of restaurants serve fairly measly bread portions). I had chicken liver pate which was presented very poorly and had an unpleasant metallic after taste. The main courses were fish, chicken and steak all of which were totally unremarkable. Portion sizes were decent enough. We passed on dessert. The standard of service wasn’t great. A waitress who tried to be jokey but just ended up being inappropriate and a waiter who after collecting our plates stood by the table and scraped left over food from plate to plate – a definite ‘no-no’. We also had difficulty in paying the bill as all the waiting staff convened in a corner to have a chat and were oblivious to anyone needing service. Needless to say we passed on leaving a tip. All in all the food was edible but the whole experience was totally forgettable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonebridge Restaurant Richhill also viewed

Portadown, County Armagh
Armagh, County Armagh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing