We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlemont Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Armagh B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Like at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

I stayed in Charlemont Arms hotel this August and it was my best stay in the UK! The hotel staff were extra super kind and friendly! The room was spacious, light and quite, and had a very beautiful view with green hills, dawn and sunset. Breakfast was tasty and substantial. The hotel has its cosy bar and restaurant suggesting lots of various dishes and excellent desserts! So there was no need to look for a place to eat out. The location is ideal: the main bus stop, the tourist information centre, the park and sightseeing attractions are just few steps away. At last the atmosphere inside the hotel is so warm that every time I was coming back to Armagh from Belfast or another place I had a feeling that I was coming back home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_cossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    22
    17
    9
See reviews for
22
39
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Spent two nights here. The room was good, though weirdly large for its furnishings, and the carpet was getting a bit ragged. Lovely view past the car park and razor wire to the bus station. The service was friendly and exceptionally helpful though, and the full breakfast was good. It's located very conveniently, close to both cathedrals, the Mall, and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I knew this hotel very well 20 years ago when I lived in the town. It wasn't our first choice but due to a mix up on my part and other hotels being fully booked this is where we ended up. I had a laugh to myself that the carpet hasn't been replaced in 20 years and for all I know may have been there 20 years before that.
The entire place and atmosphere is like stepping back in time. We were directed up a couple of flights of stairs, the lift was out of order. The room was okay, it was all a bit tired looking. It wasn't dirty exactly but there was a hair in the bath and a chocolate bar wrapper in the bin. It was roomy enough and had plenty of hangers and space to set things down. There was no information in the room or volunteered by the receptionist about breakfast times. Us being us we were half an hour late but the waitress kindly got us sorted.
If you are considering a stay here be warned it is a rowdy street and the noise went on to after 3am. It was a Saturday night.
The staff were nice, the lady that checked us out the following morning was lovely.
My big gripe is the price, £90 ! A similar pricing structure operates in the nearby ' Armagh City Hotel' which is lovely, spacious, modern, clean and was on this night FULLY BOOKED. Going on the breakfast diners I would guess we were one of three rooms occupied that night. It's far far far too expensive for what it is.
It could be fantastic, it's in such a good position , it has history and is fondly regarded by locals but it's as though time stopped. Get a new carpet and some modern bedclothes and at least look as though you want to justify the cost so you customers don't feel they were robbed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Charlemont is is need of refurbishment in the public areas as they are shabby and the bar especially is really dirty. The bedrooms are reasonably clean but the bed and pillows in our room were the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. There is not a lot of choice of hotels in Armagh so my impression is that the Charlemont management knows that the hotel will have some guaranteed custom so there has been no effort made to upgrade the standard of decor. Thus it is still in the 1970s. That I could deal with, but dirt I cannot so I will not be staying there again or recommending it to anyone. This hotel is missing a huge opportunity - it could be something really special in the heart of a lovely city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel is very overpriced for what it is. We paid £80 for a double room with breakfast and this was a reduction on the regular rate of £95 (we had a special rate as were part of a wedding party). The hotel was gloomy and in dire need of a makeover. Our room was on the 3rd (top) floor but the lift was out of order. The room itself was pretty average, though a bit gloomy and pokey being in the loft space, and it overlooked the main road so we had road noise. We had to have the (small) window open because it was warm, and so we were disturbed quite early in the morning by street/ traffic noise. The en suite bathroom was poorly finished but functional, though the shower was a bit ropey.
The service was fine and the staff pleasant enough, and the location was good for the city centre. The cooked breakfast was standard fayre.
If it had cost about £50 to £60 a night then that might have been forgiveable. We had stayed in a couple of very reasonably priced good quality hotels and B&Bs in Northern Ireland prior to coming here and were, therefore, quite disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I recently held our wedding reception in the Charlemont, and such a good time was had by all. The dinner was cooked to perfection, and the waiting staff were most polite and attentive. The management and staff did everything they could to make sure our day ran smoothly.
We also spent the night at the hotel and we found our room to be very clean and comfortable. In all, we had a most enjoyable and memorable time at the Charlemont, and we would certainly recommend the hotel to any guest who is looking for a fine establishment, in the heart of Armagh city, which serves great food and treats its guests well.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed in this hotel with my sister for 1 night. On checking in the staff member was polite and friendly. The room and in fact the hotel is in need of serious renovation. There were cracks in the walls, peeling paintwork and damaged tiling in the bathroom. Noise can be heard clearly in the room from other rooms/parts of the hotel. We ate that night in the downstairs restaurant and it was an experience both my sister and I wish never to repeat!! Our starter course of Caesar Salad was so drenched in dresssing it was difficult to enjoy but we said nothing and continued on to mains... We both ordered steak, my sister specifically requested well done and said she wouldn't eat it pink..The dinner arrived and when I asked for steak knives the waiter looked like I had 2 heads and said he would see if he could find some..On checking her steak my sisters was too undercooked and pink and asked for it to be cooked some more. It was returned to the table in about 2-3 mins with smoke coming from it. On tasting it had been completely burnt to a cinder as if by a blow torch! She didn't want to complain but I insisted on calling a manager and boy did we regret that! The manger (who we later found out was the general manager of the hotel) arrived to the table with hand on hip and a face like thunder and said "have ye a problem with your steak".. She was very confrontational and told my sister and I that she had tasted the steak herself in the kitchen and it was absolutely fine and that "I suppose it's your word against mine!" Unbelievable! She was very unhelpful and actually quite rude.. My sister was at that stage saying not to bother cooking something else but I could not sit and eat in front of her so I asked for my food to be taken back while my sister had chicken instead and I could have it when her food was ready..The response to this was "Is there a problem with your food now aswell?" She was in no way apologetic and acted as if we had put her out by adressing the matter with her..We tried to be as nice about the whole thing as possible but we were sorry we decided to eat there in the first place. When the food did arrive the 2nd time around it was actually quite nice but it was soured by the events of the previous half an hour. Breakfast was also included in our stay unfortunately! This was served in the grotty upstairs restaurant. On finishing her cereal my sister discovered the remains of someones muesli from the day before welded on to the side of her bowl! Yuck! After waiting about 15 mins in a near empty breakfast room for someone to take our order I chose the scrambled egg and my sister the sausages. The egg looked like something scraped from the inside of the microwave ceiling! After the fiasco the previous night there was no way we were going to subject ourselves to the manageress again! We packed our bags and left! Thankfully it was a 1 night stay! Never again to be repeated!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JacTJacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
6.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 14 in Armagh
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hillview Lodge
Hillview Lodge
#2 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Property: Charlemont Arms Hotel
Address: 57 - 65 Lower English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing