We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deal or No Deal ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Armagh B&B and Inns
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Deal or No Deal ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

On advice we tried the £7.50 deal here. The hotel was busy, clean and the staff very nice and pleasent. We started with the nachos and garlic mushrooms, The mushroom were tasty (all 4) and they came a small desert bowl with a knife and fork which was dificult to eat from. The nachos again came in a similiar bowl, they came with some dry cheese sprinkled on top which hadn't been melted. The mains we ordered were "lasagne" and the bacon & cheese burger. The lasagne wasn't ! it was mince and gravy with some dried up pasta on top .. very disappointing... the burger was about the best but came without the bacon and no explaination as to why it was missing. The side orders of chips and garlic fries were to be honest nothing special. Now I am bearing in mind that this is a £7.50 meal deal but perhaps more emphasises should have been given to the quality of the food with perhaps smaller portions (if smaller portions were indeed possible) ! Not to be totallly negative the wine was reasonably priced at £7.50..... all in all a disappointing experience

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    23
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
47
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a very well situated hotel in the centre of Armagh, with a large and convenient car park behind it. The owners were very friendly and helpful and were happy to provide us with a hot meal at a late hour in the evening. The rooms were very large and clean with ample cupboard space for clothes and possessions. I did miss a hairdryer, though!

Room Tip: The hotel is on what seems to be a fairly quiet street, but I would recommend the rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I arrived at the hotel on a friday morning, i was greeted by the receptionist that sorted me out with my check in and offered me a menu as i hadn't eaten that day. As the main hotel bar was busy i when up to their second bar turners were again i met lovely staff.. they showed me the carvery which had the specials and also a wide variety snack menu. bar was very clean and tidy.
i would definety recommend this hotel to stay in. the food was lovely and the staff were extremely nice and actually had a conversation with you, which i think is rare to find these days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamonn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

from the staff to the rooms everything was 1st class. The people where very friendly and welcoming. the rooms where very clean, the food was homemade and delicious and the service from the staff was excellent. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Overall a pretty good stay .
Hotel staff go out of their way to help accomodate you. Rooms are comfortable but sparse. I saw no hairdryer ( no big deal for me ) and no ironing board or iron.
Upon check in the hotel staff forgot to turn on my heat even though I requested an early morning check in (9:00am). The heat was not turned on until I complained around 2pm. The outside temperature was approximately 5C. The room never did get that warm.
I got a room facing the main street and as there were some early morning deliveries, etc. this was somewhat disturbing. Hotel was not that busy and I would have thought the first rooms assigned would have been facing out back with a little more privacy.
The only other thing was not having my room cleaned one morning because I was not ready to vacate it at 9:30am. It appears some one was going home early and needed to clean the room NOW or not at all.
Still a very enjoyable stay, staff in the lobby bar are fantastic, very friendly and personable. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Turner bar staff are good but it can be hit and miss.
I paid the final bill the night before my departure as I had a very early morning flight. Unfortunately, all the telephone callers who called that evening were told I was not staying in the hotel. This happened three times. The hotel is only 30 rooms and was not that busy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel provide more privacyand a little better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEAMUSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I had reason to spend a night in Armagh for business reasons and I chose The Charlemont Arms Hotel. The welcome was warm and everything was explained quickly and fully. The room was more than adequate, clean and spacious. I took dinner in the onsite restaurant and it was tasty and reasonably priced. The chap serving the breakfast next morning was particularly friendly and entertaining and went out of his way to take care of me. All in all an excellent stay and I'll be very happy to stay at The Charlemont Arms next time I'm in Armagh.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the main street - I was allocated a room at the back of the hotel and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Pay no heed to a hostile review which nearly put me off. If, like me you want somewhere comfortable and helpul to stay, with its own parking and within walking distance of the many sights the City has to offer, this is the place. It is popular with the local residents and with tourists. There are agreeable restuarants and pubs nearby, but the hotel itself has extensive and attractive bars and bar food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selvaoilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.5 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.7 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 14 in Armagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairylands Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Property: Charlemont Arms Hotel
Address: 57 - 65 Lower English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing