We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Reviewed April 10, 2012

from the staff to the rooms everything was 1st class. The people where very friendly and welcoming. the rooms where very clean, the food was homemade and delicious and the service from the staff was excellent. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Overall a pretty good stay .
Hotel staff go out of their way to help accomodate you. Rooms are comfortable but sparse. I saw no hairdryer ( no big deal for me ) and no ironing board or iron.
Upon check in the hotel staff forgot to turn on my heat even though I requested an early morning check in (9:00am). The heat was not turned on until I complained around 2pm. The outside temperature was approximately 5C. The room never did get that warm.
I got a room facing the main street and as there were some early morning deliveries, etc. this was somewhat disturbing. Hotel was not that busy and I would have thought the first rooms assigned would have been facing out back with a little more privacy.
The only other thing was not having my room cleaned one morning because I was not ready to vacate it at 9:30am. It appears some one was going home early and needed to clean the room NOW or not at all.
Still a very enjoyable stay, staff in the lobby bar are fantastic, very friendly and personable. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Turner bar staff are good but it can be hit and miss.
I paid the final bill the night before my departure as I had a very early morning flight. Unfortunately, all the telephone callers who called that evening were told I was not staying in the hotel. This happened three times. The hotel is only 30 rooms and was not that busy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel provide more privacyand a little better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEAMUSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I had reason to spend a night in Armagh for business reasons and I chose The Charlemont Arms Hotel. The welcome was warm and everything was explained quickly and fully. The room was more than adequate, clean and spacious. I took dinner in the onsite restaurant and it was tasty and reasonably priced. The chap serving the breakfast next morning was particularly friendly and entertaining and went out of his way to take care of me. All in all an excellent stay and I'll be very happy to stay at The Charlemont Arms next time I'm in Armagh.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the main street - I was allocated a room at the back of the hotel and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Pay no heed to a hostile review which nearly put me off. If, like me you want somewhere comfortable and helpul to stay, with its own parking and within walking distance of the many sights the City has to offer, this is the place. It is popular with the local residents and with tourists. There are agreeable restuarants and pubs nearby, but the hotel itself has extensive and attractive bars and bar food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selvaoilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Excellent stay in peaceful and relaxing surroundings. Nothing too much trouble. Lobby newly refurbished and looks great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMG186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Friendly and very efficient staff, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was great, very good location for the City we could walk everywhere. Would recommend this for a great short break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I stayed in Charlemont Arms hotel this August and it was my best stay in the UK! The hotel staff were extra super kind and friendly! The room was spacious, light and quite, and had a very beautiful view with green hills, dawn and sunset. Breakfast was tasty and substantial. The hotel has its cosy bar and restaurant suggesting lots of various dishes and excellent desserts! So there was no need to look for a place to eat out. The location is ideal: the main bus stop, the tourist information centre, the park and sightseeing attractions are just few steps away. At last the atmosphere inside the hotel is so warm that every time I was coming back to Armagh from Belfast or another place I had a feeling that I was coming back home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria_cossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
623 reviews
6.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
19.0 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
264 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
16.1 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Address: 57-65 English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range: $98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing