We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disappointment!!”
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
A TripAdvisor Member
South Florida
116
Reviewed February 3, 2003

I have many close relatives and friends in Armagh City. My father was born and raised in the city and my mother worked, many years ago, in several of the hotels in the city. I looked forward to visiting this new hotel that was causing such excitement in Armagh. Last autumn, my wife and I visited Armagh City. One afternoon we went to lunch with my cousins to the new hotel. As we entered the dining areas we bumped into Tommy Makem. I had first met him the previous spring here in South Florida. We had a delightful conversation. In the dining room, we ordered several different hot entrees from the menu. I'm sorry to say that all five of us were greatly disappointed when the dishes were presented to us. Several were not even tepid in temperature and all were poorly presented and pretty much tasteless. Subsequent to that visit, I've heard from several of my friends and other relatives that they have also found the meals to have been as I described ours. It's a shame. The owners and management have a golden opportunity to place their establishment "on the map"! I understand that they wish to cater to the conference and meeting trade. As one who has arranged for and attended well over 50 of such events, I can attest that if the meals are not "up to par" they will not get repeat business from those groups they wish to attract and keep in the future.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 637 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank vietsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank MorT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThLachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJD75, Manager at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres sur le devant ont une belle vue sur la ville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilia9245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rudolf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
17.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,563 reviews
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
7.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range: $126 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing