We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just back from weekend break- family suite great value and caters for five.Breakfast very good and evening meal as part of the package was very good, plenty of everything. Staff were friendly and courteous, check in and out was first class. Wi-fi good. Pool small but warm with very good friendly and helpful leisure centre staff
Recommended for a weekend family break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your 4**** review -
We are delighted that you enjoyed your break at the Armagh City Hotel . Our head Chef and his team work hard to ensure good quality, local produce is on the menu and, as you would expect, it's stylish and generous. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you again for your comments,

Helen Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    191
    86
    54
    40
See reviews for
107
174
17
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my wife stayed 1 night we were very happy with everyhing.but the food was poor, we were told by local
Users that it was hit and miss, so we would stay again but eat else where. There id other resturants in the area and a selection of good pubs. The charlemon
t hotel is very good for food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcveighs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

hotel is in a good location with ample parking.Some of the staff were very friendly while some of them were quite rude.breakfast was very average with very poor quality sausages bacan and pudding,it has the potential to be a fine hotel but unfortunately a lot of improvement is needed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just arrived back from a valentines package with me and my fiancé my brother and his fiancé third time staying in hotel food was good staff was lovely couldn't do enough rooms big and comfy. After a quiet drink across the rd we went to the night club recommend by hotel and can Honestly say I would never return to night club felt intimidated by a group of males from the area making rude signs and comments trying to start a fight with r other halfs as they successed and off there heads we were frightened for r life's bouncers no were to b seen next min they come in ginger hair small build got my brother arm up his back no questions asked when all put out still did not want to know wat happened and were so rude its unreal . Manger then had to check CCTV to c if we were allowed back into r hotel and nothing done with group of males think it was an utter disgrace the way the situation was treated as I work in hr in Dublin and I no we were in the right and still no one wanted to know will not be back ..........

Room Tip: Do not go near nightclub attached to hotel unless you wanted attacked !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Westick,
Thank you for your review. Hotel staff have a duty of care to all customers and all our staff have had extensive training in customer care and are experienced in dealing with a wide variety of situations. We would not want to exclude any guest, but we are duty bound to ensure the comfort of all our customers and staff are entitled to check on the detail of any activity and be assured of that. If our caution caused you offense, then we are sorry.

Yours sincerely,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

First stay at this hotel on a recommendation from a customer who stays when visiting this area, and can only comment of how good it was. Rooms are spacious, warm and comfortable. Dined in the restaurant in the evening and the quality of the food was very good indeed - tried the venison steaks with Champ and perfectly cooked vegetables. Will definately return when next in the area and have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Get best deal price off many of the options available through Tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear John H
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found everything to your liking. We offer a number of corporate benefits to regular business users. We will be glad to offer them to you if you will be visiting regularly. Make sure you mention it when booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here saturday night, and the only thing I can say is this hotel is fantastic, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the service was top class. I was at a fiunction here and the food was unbelievable. The same thing was with the breakfast, such a wide range and was again fantastic, such a wide selection.
I would definitely stay here again, as the whole experience was wonderful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keady
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went to see Tommy Tiernan in Armagh city Hotel last night, fantastic gig, two hours of laughter. We stayed the night in a fantastic balcony room, very clean and very comfortable beds.. Room service on the ball and food was lovely.. great staff nothing was too much trouble.. the bar was very busy but plenty of staff and we were served quickly. great atmosphere. A great night you cant go wrong with this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
7.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
17.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,469 reviews
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
18.6 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Property: Armagh City Hotel
Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing