We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty fayre without the sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1868 Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

1868 Restaurant & Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty fayre without the sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

A great Saturday night meal. Super, efficient, unobtrusive service.
Lovely starter followed my a perfect steak with a flavour that doesn't require the pepper sauce it was served with however the sauce was tasty too.
My friend had the Jacobs Ladder main course which he says was delicious too!
The accompanying wine list was very adequate, catering for all tastes and price ranges.
The hearty Apple and Fruit Crumble dessert rounded off what was a lovely evening.
I do think we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ontherun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    18
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had sunday lunch with some friends-roast beef with two pieces of carrot and two tiny pieces of brocollli-very little gravy on dinner so asked for more from waitress,after 10mins had to go and ask again- eventually got a tiny jug of gravy .Desserts were very disappointing especially the lemon tart which was definitely not homemade.However when I checked my bill when I got home I couldnt believe I had been charged £2-50 for the extra gravy! Will stick to hotels for sunday lunch in future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank annvale35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmaghRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at 1868 Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear annvale,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, it is only with constructive feedback that we can improve upon our standards. We are very sorry that on this occasion we didn’t live up to the high standards we set ourselves. Your comments have been shared with our kitchen and front of house teams and we have addressed all issues you describe internally. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards, Niall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We dined here on a Friday night from the main menu. We both had starters, celery soup and chicken salad and for mains 12oz sirloin. The food was cooked well but we both agreed that perhaps a little warmer and maybe a larger portion of sides would have made it perfect. The open fire was lit and a group of young girls and boys played traditional Irish music in the background. Very pleasant, would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had sunday lunch here about fortnight ago. Warm welcome from staff. Opted for 2 courses at £13·95. Both chose potato and leek soup starter which was delicious and served up with a lovely wheaten bread. It was quite a nippy day and restaurant wasnt overly warm. The fire was lit however there was only a small log on it which didnt give out much heat (but nice ambience however) Beef and chicken were chosen as mains,both dishes were nicely presented however we both agreed food could have been hotter but ate it as we had waited a while for it. Clientele on the particular day appeared to be more mature diners. Lovely old building,would be nice to spend an evening here for drinks if entertainment/event night taking place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittymck47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“overall disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Visited here for the first time since it had changed name and generally wasn't that impressed not bad but not great either. Restaurant was very quiet for Saturday night don't know if that was a bad sign or not. Starter was risotto arrived quick, service good but tasted quite bland, main course was the best of the three, duck breast was nicely cooked and very satisfactory. Dessert however was awful apple and mixed berry crumble. Three main problems the topping looked like crumbled digestive biscuits, the middle was cold and worst of all i found an apple core in there!!!. Based on the other reviews on here i might just have a got a bad night however my wife said her goats cheese tart, chicken main were just adequate nothing more. Would have to think twice before going back there's plenty of others nearby doing better

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gannonman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmaghRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at 1868 Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are so terribly sorry for the quality of food you received. There is no excuse, however our sous chef called in ill at the last minute and we restricted the amount of covers we did on Saturday to try and compensate, however we still fell short of the standards we usually produce [as you can see from previous reviews].
We realise this is of little help you as you had a bad dining experience and apologies from all the Team at 1868.
Please can you contact us if possible. T. 028 3751 5353 E.info@1868restaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1868 Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Armagh, County Armagh
Armagh, County Armagh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing