We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home but a far better view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinbane Farmhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinbane Farmhouse B&B
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Home from home but a far better view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my second visit to Kinbane Farmhouse having previously stayed in 2009. Kinbane’s location is perfect for exploring Antrim’s coast and glens and is within easy reach by car of Belfast. The sea view is simply stunning of Rathlin Island and in the distance South West Scotland. Large picture windows from the lounge and dining room, with binoculars on hand, mean you can sit and relax and take in the view.

Nan is very friendly with a wonderful warm personality, she makes you feel very much at home and nothing is too much trouble for her. Breakfasts are very good, her porridge is deliciously superb. Don’t expect fancy food, this is not a criticism at all, Nan’s perfectly prepared excellent traditional Irish breakfast will set you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights, enjoying the amazing views of the Antrim coast, Rathlin Island and south-west Scotland. The farm has a very peaceful location at the end of a private lane. Our room had a private bathroom rather than an en-suite; everything was clean and we were very comfortable. Nan's breakfasts are certainly excellent and her porridge a real speciality! An unusual bonus was the availability of the conservatory / breakfast room in the evenings with tea and coffee provided, and even crockery and cutlery for bringing in a "take-away" dinner if we had wanted to.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The property enjoys a wonderful location for visiting anywhere on the Antrim coast, spectacular views of Rathlin island. Kinbane castle is at the bottom of the lane and well worth the short stroll.

The accommodation is spotlessly clean and is equipped with all the comforts of home, including free-view TV. Large rooms, comfy beds and plenty of towels.

A great variety of teas and coffee is always available along with a full biscuit jar. Breakfast offers a wide choice and is cooked and presented to perfection.

The hosts are really friendly and very helpful in offering advice regarding places to eat and visit.

Loved watching the wildlife from the large conservatory, including the cows, kittens and Red the friendly border collie.

Room Tip: All rooms look excellent, we had a family room and a twin and were really pleased with the quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. We arrived late afternoon and were offered a ride to Ballycastle to go for dinner, where the lady of the house dropped us off at the marina for a nice walk to the centre. As it was saturday night we enjoyed spending the evening, there are a couple of restaurants and pubs, with live music and good athmosphere! The breakfast was great and the fog was just clearing so the view was getting spectacular. We enjoyed the fact that it was a working farm and also talking to the friendly owners. The rooms and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatons hill, queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Kinbane and especially wanted to come back to this great place. Nan is just so nice, friendly and nothing is a bother. Breakfasts were amazing; porridge beautiful. The scenery is amazing as was the walk down to Kinbane Castle. Don't let the fence deter you; it is worth it. Would loved to have stayed longer but all good things have to end. You could just sit for hours in the breakfast room with views of the cattle, the sea and on a clear day Scotland. Very relaxing. Enjoyed it immensely. The whole coastal route is amazing. Thanks Nan.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianem252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a most wonderful place to stay the View the Hostess the accommodations and the food are out of this world. What a place to relax.
Nan Thank you for a most enjoyable four days stay in May 2013. And a special thanks for the Bushmills

Eamonn & Gail

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eamonn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I travelled on business with a colleague - from the moment we arrived we were looked after splendidly and made to feel at home. Charge for single occupancy was very modest.The setting is gorgeous and you can't help but relax as soon as you get there. Everything was fresh and immaculately cleaned, plenty choice for breakfast and a flexible serving time to suit. Will return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
2.5 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
8.9 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#6 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.5 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbane Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbane Farmhouse B&B

Property: Kinbane Farmhouse B&B
Address: 85 Whitepark Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kinbane Farmhouse B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing