We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy & homely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardaghmore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very comfy & homely B&B”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Ardaghmore B&B was a very comfortable and homely B&B and on arrival Genevieve welcomed us with a pot of tea and biscuits. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a beautiful view overlooking the street and bay. Our bedroom had a king size bed and a comfy sofa to relax in and enjoy the view out the large bay-window. Our own private bathroom was outside our room but only 4 steps away, with a shower, basin, toilet and full bath. The scrumptious breakfast was shared with other travellers on a beautiful large antique table and I loved the homemade strawberry jam that was served. If visiting Ballycastle again I would definitely stay at Ardaghmore B&B again and would highly recommend this B&B.
Tip: The Bay Cafe down the road serves a great dinner at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The view from the Rathlin room was stunning. Our hostess, Genevieve, was very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Ardaghmore for 2 memorable nights,our host Genevieve was very helpful, the room .we had was excellent,with a private bathroom. The view over the harbour ,with Rathlin Is in the distance was lovely.The breakfast was great and plenty of it.We hope to return in the near future.B&B's of this nature are few and far between.
Mal & Celia Collins Victoria, Australia

Room Tip: The Rathlin Room has a private bathroom and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My Girlfriend and I spend 3 nights at this cosy little B&B in Ballycastle. We had a spacious room with an ensuite bathroom and a very nice view over the sea. The bed was extremely comfortable which is very important when you are on a hiking trip. But what really made the stay so enjoyable was our hostess Genevieve. Not only did she serve a really good breakfast, she also exelled in making us feel perfectly welcome and relaxed. She provided useful tips about where to eat, drink and hear irish music in Ballycastle and drove us to the starting point of one of our hikes. She even offered to wash our hiking clothes after a particulary strenuous day. We really felt at home.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cologne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My mum and I had a wonderful two-night stay with Genevieve. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer. Firstly, we really like Ballycastle. It is a very pretty sea-side town with beautiful coastal and country-side scenery. The town itself has lots of interesting shops, as well as tennis courts and a golf course. Ballycastle is close to all the key sights on the beautiful Antrim Coast and beyond, including the Giant’s Causeway. Views are very important to us and Genevieve’s Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place for us to stay. We stayed in the Fairhead Room which provided the most wonderful views of Ballycastle harbour below us, Ballycastle bay in front of us, Rathlin Island to our left and Ballycastle’s sandy beach stretching out towards Fairhead on our right. Genevieve’s breakfasts were wonderful. The first morning, we had a very tasty cooked breakfast and the second morning we had a lighter one (because we had been on holiday/over-indulging for a while). My mum was keen to visit Rathlin Island and Genevieve very kindly booked us on the ferry, which was great because it turned out that the ferry was fully booked that day. Genevieve is a very kind and warm person who we immediately felt comfortable with. We did not feel like we were staying in a stranger’s house. We felt like we were staying with a dear friend. We hope to stay at Ardaghmore Bed and Breakfast again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night in July 2011 with my wife and daughters aged 9 and 13. We stayed in the Rathlin room with a beautiful view of the harbor, Rathlin Island and Scotland in the Scotland coast in the distance. Genevieve is a wonderful and gracious host. Very convenient to Carrick-a-Rede, Giants Causeway and other sights along the Antrim Coast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rccarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was one of our favorite B&B's to stay in. The house is situated above the harbor and was built in 1899. Genevieve was very welcoming and friendly, the house was amazing, and our room was fabulous. We stay in the Rathlin room and it was awesome. We had a wonderful view of the harbor complete with huge windows and a couch to sit on and enjoy the views. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was huge by European standards. Breakfast was in a cute dining room and was wonderful. Ballycastle is a very cute little town and fun to just walk around and enjoy the atmosphere. Stop by O'Connors pub for dinner, it was good food and fun atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rathlin room, it was amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
0.2 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardaghmore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardaghmore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ardaghmore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ardaghmore b&b
Ardaghmore Hotel Ballycastle
Ardaghmore Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing