We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xcellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Xcellent”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel food outta this world and great value sunday lunch definitely worth a go and very fast and efficient staff friendly and accommodating just ask and they help you out for a hotel its reasonably priced credit to our town should be five star hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinamclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Martinamclaughlin,
Thank you very much for your review, i have passed on your kind words to all the team, our Sunday Carvery is proving to be a big hit with families and i am glad you also enjoyed it.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    194
    105
    62
    51
See reviews for
194
254
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A great hotel in a spectacular area surrounded by many of the attractions of the north coast all within a reasonable distance, but with this hotel you may not want to travel far. Good food and pleasant areas to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Anndrew4144,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, i have to agree we are situated in a fantastic location on the North Coast within easy reach of all the attractions , Giants causeway and the rope bridge to name a few.
I am delighted you received our customary excellent service and i look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to the North Coast.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Took the short trip for evening a la carte menu very disappointed ordered bull and bird for me and my wife and in my opinion what we got was rehashed carvery with cold potatoe my two kids had chicken goujons which were so hard. Some of restraunt staff were more interested in the football than their guests all in all a very disappointing meal which cost me Around £50 won't be back .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricky8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ricky8187,
I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your meal at the hotel, I can assure you that all of our foods are freshly cooked and we would not "rehash" carvery foods into other dishes. I have spoken to our kitchen team about your observations and they apologise sincerely.

I hope that you change your mind and come to the Marine Hotel in the future and you will see that it was a one off occasion and that our food is of the highest quality and standard.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spent one night here driving around N Ireland. Front desk personnel were wonderful. Wifi was adequate.

Booked a partial view room at an increased rate. I would not bother from my room the view was worth nothing extra.

Hotel needs a serious update . Cleaning staff needs to do a better job on checking what is working.

I had 2 lights with burnt out bulbs and no interest in waiting for someone to change them at 10pm.

They lock the doors at 11 PM and you have to ring for a porter to let you in and then he turns on lights in the Halls and walks you to room. Felt like I was in Russia.

Hell the entertainment in the bars does not even start until 10pm. It was not a big problem but just weird.

Breakfast Buffet was mediocre and I am being generous. Next time would go to fabulous bakery up the street for coffee and suites.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firecat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Firecat46,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to read that your stay was unsatisfactory.
My team would have been more than happy to replace the bulbs in your lights if requested as bulbs can go once they are turned on so house keeping staff might not have been aware they were gone.
Our music starts at 10pm like all other venues , it is so as not to disturb our diners, but this is the time it starts in most other venues.
I apologise that you felt our breakfast buffet was inadequate , we do offer a wide variety of fruits, yoghurts, breads , juices and hot foods but we will certainly look into your observation.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and you had a safe trip home, I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ireland and I hope you will see some of the improvements that you have suggested in place.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My elderly mother and I stayed here for 2 days in June. Room allocation was excellent especially considering my mother isn't overly mobile. We had a lovely spacious room with a side sea view. The staff from reception to restaurant to housekeeping were extremely courteous and helpful. As my mother is coeliac we sometimes find it hard for her diet to be accommodated...this was definitely NOT the case here. Nothing was too much trouble in the restaurant they went over and above to provide food for her dietary requirements. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaypal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear holidaypal36,
thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, it was great to read that you and your mum had such a good time at the hotel. We pride ourselves on being one of the few hotels in the north coast who are fully accredited to the coeliac society, over 80% of our menu is available gluten free.
I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen team and they were delighted.
We all look forward t welcoming you and your mum back to the Marine Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and myself were given gift of a night in the marine hotel and tour of the bushmills distillery. We thoroughly enjoyed our night in the marine. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful and our room was really good. It overlooked the sea which was lovely both at night and in the morning. The food was also very good. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Rosemary p.
Thank you very much for your kind review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ballycastle and the Marine Hotel. We would always recommend to our guests that they visit the Bushmills factory and take the tour it is very impressive.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your return visit and you can enjoy all the other attractions the area has to offer.

Kind Regards
Michael Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel hit the spot consistently throughout our stay from check-in to check-out. Everything we would expect from an Irish Hotel, good service, wholesome and tasty food served on plentiful plates and a decent pint. We took both breakfast and evening meals in the hotel and were completely satisfied. Our room was larger than expected, well decorated and the bed comfortable. Ballycastle is probably the best of the North coast towns to explore the region, lovely beach and interesting historical route, much better than Port Rush or Portstewart.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear hewhotravels,
Thank you very much for your review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay here, I have to agree with you Ballycastle certainly is the ideal location to explore the North Coast, and even to have a relaxing day by the sea and just take in the breath taking views.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The marine Hotel and your next visit to the North Coast.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
278 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
771 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
987 reviews
16.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
704 reviews
23.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Property: Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing