We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'We keep coming back'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife Christine and myself attended the Valentine's day dinner. As we expected, the food was quite delicious, from a comprehensive menu. As always, the staff (which are the hotel's greatest asset) were attentive, courteous and prompt. Having stayed twice at the Marine, prior to coming to Ballycastle to live, we now find we're visiting three or four times a week, for coffee/cake, and a chat to staff, who we feel are now more like friends. When we have visitors, who we'd like to take out for a meal, there really is nowhere else. The Marine's overall quality is rarely equalled and never exceeded. Clive & Christine Williams

Room Tip: When we've stayed, we find the sea views are a holiday in themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGenManager, Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Clive & Christine,

Many thanks for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the Valentines dinner and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Marine Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 707 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very warm and comfortable hotel with welcoming and friendly staff. Hotel is in a beautiful location and we had a wonderful sea view from our room. Attended very nice function, first class surroundings and service and good standard of food, excellent breakfast next morning. Could happily have stayed another night (at least!) but would definitely come back with family. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Great views from first floor rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Kerry,

Many thanks for your kind comments.

I am delighted you enjoyed the function for TinyLife, It was a great success and raised much needed funds for the charity.

I hope to welcome you back to the Marine again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed over night at the Marine hotel as I was attending an evening function.
The views from my bedroom were breathtaking and the staff were very friendly.
I would return again sometime with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Christine,

many thanks for your kind words.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the function and your stay at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly helpful staff on arrival and throughout our stay. Bedrooms spotless, roomy and wonderful nights sleep on a very comfortable bed...views from bedroom amazing!!! Quality food served at our function and staff very attentive throughout. Again breakfast of a very high standard and plenty of staff around to help. Ballycastle has the most amazing views and the beach is beautiful for a stroll after breakfast. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Julie,

Many thanks for your kind comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the function, it seemed that everyone was having a great night and for such a good cause "Tiny Life".

I hope that you will return and visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked Friday night in the Marine Hotel we had 3 rooms booked. We met in the Marconi bar and had dinner and a few wines.it was a good meal and good friendly staff. The bedrooms are a little tired but very clean and have a great bed. We did go up the town to connors Pub for some music as the hotel had no music on friday night if they had we would have stayed. Before leaving we had a nice breakfast sat morning. We did agree that we would be back.

Room Tip: room 111 is a good room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Peter,

many thanks for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your meal in Marconi's.

I hope to welcome you back to the Marine again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here 24 to 26 january '14. We were met by the very pleasant front of house staff. It really is a nice experience to be met by such very happy and courteous people. The room was comfortable and well laid out, the view is that of the seafront of Ballycastle, there were some rough seas on show during our stay and some surfers out to enjoy it. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights, we were impressed by the standard of service provided and the food that arrived in a timely fashion can only be described as excellent on both nights. This is a seafront hotel that I would gladly recommend to the traveller, even if you don't stay over in the hotel and your passing do drop in and have one of the many excellent meals on offer. Excellent Hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JimDowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi Jim,

Many thanks for your very kind words.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sampled the delicious food that our talented chefs serve up.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a family trip for two nights. We received a lovely greeting from the kind receptionists and went to find our large sized rooms with a great view of the sea outside. We had a really good stay and what really impressed us was the lovely, kind young staff, waiters and the delicious food. The waiters kept us informed on when the food was arriving and they had good senses of humour. The food was amazing as we ate there both nights and there was a wide range of choices on the menu for all types of people. This is a very good hotel with very good staff and I would not hesitate to go back here. We would recommend this to all types of people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi Donie,

Many thanks for your kind words.

I am delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with your family and enjoyed the Food and hospitality at The Marine Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
301 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
826 reviews
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,950 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
720 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: $86 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing