We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, friendly and accommodating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and accommodating.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently held a function at the hotel (children's Christenings) and I have to say the service,food and staff were fantastic. Everyone was extremely helpful and catered to our every need. The food was lovely and very well presented as was the room. Very child friendly and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend for any event/function. :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolOB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
HI Carol,

I am really glad that your special day went well for you.

Thanks for the lovely comments and hopefully we will see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    182
    95
    57
    51
See reviews for
180
239
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had lunch here last saturday, and was very much impressed. Very friendly and helpful staff. The bar was clean, spacious and was sitting at a table right beside the window. The food was excellent the service was very efficient, the guiness was good, and all very reasonable priced. Will definately come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
HI Andrew,

Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch on Saturday.

We are in the process of devising a new menu for the bistro and I hope that you will return again and sample it.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Marine last weekend, and as other reviewers have commented the receptionist Nuala was very warm, welcoming and efficient. Her knowledge of both the hotel and the local area was excellent, she gave us a dual aspect room. we had views over the beach and Rathlin island and also the golf club and tennis courts. The room was lovely, it was clean and bright and the bed was very comfortable. We had a meal in the Bistro where again the staff were very helpful the food was quite good ( no complaints ). There was music in the lounge on the saturday evening and the duo were excellent.
A very positive stay I would recommend the Marine to any one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Christine,

Many thanks for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Marine.
Nuala is a real asset to our team and I will ensure I pass on your kind comments.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited this establishment for lunch on a day-trip around the very beautiful North Antrim coast.
The welcome at the foyer was friendly and we were guided to the restaurant for lunch... So far OK.
The table service was average on an NI scale. A few smokers hung around outside on the pavement and the smell of cigarette smoke eventually found its way to our table. We don't do cigarette smell when paying for a meal out.
The menu was very average and we eventually made our choice. Then we waited (too long) for our simple choice to arrive. In a world where many starve it was good to have some food.
We said, 'thank you' then paid (too much) and left.
We left with a feeling that the next time we visited Ballycastle this place may not be open.
Pretty average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
HI Richard,

I am really sorry to read that you were less than happy with your visit to the hotel.

We have just taken on a new Head Chef who is currently devising an exciting new menu for our bistro and our staff are being retrained on their service standards.

I thank you for your comments and hope that you will come back and visit again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stopped in recently at the re-opened Marine Hotel to see what all the fuss is about. Pleasantly surprised. Had a really lovely lunch in the Bistro, much better than your average steak sandwich. Good buzz even though it was a Monday and was surprised at the amount of foreign accents, quite a number of French and German tourists experiencing their first pint of Guinness!

Not in Ballycastle that much but will now consider for a stay on the north coast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
HI Bobby,

many thanks for your comments I am delighted that you enjoyed your steak sandwich and I hope that on the day in question the weather was nice enough for you to enjoy the view also.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights starting 21st Sept. We received the best welcome at reception I have ever received in a hotel anywhere both home and abroad. The receptionists are genuinely interested in the guests which is really nice. Always interested in a chat whilst still able to do their job with great efficiency. The rooms are ok. The bed wasn't great but I still managed to get a good sleep. The breakfast could have done with more fruit. The cooked breakfast was very good and served by very pleasant staff. Ate in the bar and the food was also good but not a lot to choose from. But maybe that's just my taste. We met the girls cleaning the rooms one day. They were just lovely. They too did s great job every day. You really have great staff. Keep up the good work and I look forward to a return visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msfussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Marine and I will ensure your kind words are communicated to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Positives ...lovely location, excellent staff, free Wi-Fi, ok prices
Negatives...Breakfast looked nice but our order was overlooked so we never got to taste it! Staff were apologetic but no concession on account! Road outside was noisy - not much the owners can do about that but the beds were a bit basic and not that comfortable.
Overall we would return to a hopefully updated hotel... If it was updated I am sure it would do well
Ronald

Room Tip: Not sure - rooms with a noisy due to road Rooms that are quiet - no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcguireronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Ronald,

many thanks for your comments, I apologise for the mishap with your breakfast, this should never have happened.

The hotel reopened in June this year and we have plans in place to carry out a refurbishment over the coming year.

I hope this has not put you off returning to the Marine Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Property: Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing