We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I booked my reservation at the Marine Hotel I was under the impression that the entire hotel had been refurbished by new owners. While the room I was given had no appearance of fresh paint or carpet, it wasn't bad but, for 110 GBP, I expected a sea view room. The one I got overlooked the tennis courts. Bottom line, The Marine is all right, but I would suggest other accommodations if looking for a place to stay while in Ballycastle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sanquhar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I am sorry to read that you were less than satisfied with your accommodation. The hotel has recently reopened after a soft refurbishment in some areas with a view to carrying out a more extensive refurbishment of the bedrooms once we are more established.

I hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay at The Marine Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 692 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited on 23.08.13 with my Cousin and his wife - Excellent food and very pleasant staff. Good sized helpings all round and at very competitive prices. We had 3 different dishes - Chicken Gougons, Sirloin Steak and an Open Steak Sandwich with a side order of onion rings. We couldn't find fault with any of the dishes and would highly recommend a visit. The staff were attentive, friendly and very welcoming. Will definitely visit again on my next return to Ballycastle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pmca1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments.

I am glad you enjoyed your meal in the Bistro and that you received good service from my team.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great to see this hotel open again. New owners have added Costa coffee area which is handy for a hot drink and snack. Arrived with my aunt and father. Nuala on reception was more than helpful in arranging for rooms next to each other. The rooms were in excellent decorative order with very comfortable beds - good selection of teas and coffees and biscuits.

We also had dinner the ham with champ and parsley sauce was delicious. Good selection on the menu. Perhaps a little more local fish on the menu would be good.

The only fault I had was that there was not a separate bar area from the dining room. But appreciate space is limited

Had a very tasty breakfast. My father had the Ulster fry which was huge!!

Will definitely stay there again next time visiting the Antrim coast. Good luck for the future.
Briege

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Briege55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

HI Briege,

many thanks for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that your father enjoyed his fry for breakfast.

We are planning to review our bistro menu in October and will take on board what you have said about more fish options.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine again soon.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just had a meal in Marine Hotel Ballycastle good food great service and good prices. Would recommend it staff are the best nothing a problem and keen to please. The open steak sandwich was to die for and my wife enjoyed the pasta dish. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Willie,

Lovely to meet you both in the hotel the other day and I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

I hope to see you both again soon, maybe for the Christmas Special !!

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went for lunch yesterday (14th Aug) and were very pleased with the service and quality of food. Generous portions and good prices in our opinion. I would definitely recommend the open steak sandwich!

Special mention to the staff who responded very quickly when my gran took a turn for the worse. They were respectful and courteous and ensured she was well.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, I hope your gran is feeling better now :)

I look forward to seeing you all in the hotel again soon.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I called into the Marine Hotel for a meal after returning from a trip to Rathlin Island. We were very impressed with the whole experience, staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Orders were taken promptly and food served quickly and hot. We really enjoyed our meal and would have no hesitation in returning again when in the area and have been recommending to others. Keep up the high standard you are delivering at the moment. P Webb Lurgan

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your lovely message, I am delighted that you had a good experience at The Marine Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I dined here on Friday night (9th Aug) and again on Saturday evening with my daughter's family. Excellent meals on both days. Staff are open and courteous and nothing was any trouble to them. Well done the Marine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyBumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

HI,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel and that the staff treated your well, thank you for your comments.

I hope to welcome you back to the Marine Hotel again soon.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
292 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
807 reviews
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,886 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
700 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: $98 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing