We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had a great time. The staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I am a coeliac and they had a number of dishes I could eat at dinner and gluten free cereal and bread at breakfast , and the big WOW was gluten free beer :))) and they are only a 3 star hotel. Well done !! The hotel overlooks the beach and Rathlin Island.

Room Tip: Book a full sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dympna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Many thanks for you kind words, I am glad we could accommodate your dietary requirements so well.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Marine Hotel Ballycastle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 681 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

WE stayed here unexpectadly. We could not believe how friendly and helpful the staff were especially the Reception. The room was lovely with a great view of the harbour and beach. on one side while on the other we could watch local people playing bowls We will definetly go back at the first opportunity We did not visit the leisure facilities so we cannot comment Vincent

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 978VincentG978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Vincent, many thanks for your kind words I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the leisure facilities opened by next year.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent an evening at a function and meal. Lovely hotel, nice staff, very friendly Management. An excellent location, walking distance to Rathlin ferry, and Ballycastle Golf Club. Ate in the Bistro, and thoroughly enjoyed the meal - and the friendly atmosphere. Best of luck to this newly-reopened Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughfcummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments, I am delighted you had a good experience at the hotel and I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights staff were friendly. Had a meal first night wasn't great got blue molded bread with my starter dinner was cold long wait. the other thing that bothered me was smell of damp around the place i guess after it being closed for so long be hard to get rid of rooms were ok damp on walls etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller12CoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your comments, I am sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel was not good and I apologise for this.
I do hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to the Marine a few days after it reopened. Was excited to have a hotel back in the town again after a long period! We ate in the bistro and food was ok, although I was surprised that the menu didn't have headed paper, was literally a print off - different to the facebook page! Service was ok, staff a bit inexperienced and young, but everyone has to start somewhere! Great atmosphere and great views of the beach and Fairhead. Wishing them all the best in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy_Sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments I am sorry that your were disappointed with the presentation of our menu, this was a temporary measure to allow us to open. We are planning a new menu for September and I hope you will come back and sample it.

Regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed on the 15th June, the second night the hotel was open. We were met with pleaent and enthusiastic staff ,and the public areas of the hotel were very busy, filled with locals who were very pleased to see the place open again.
Our room was a sea view on the second floor;a room with four beds and an amazing view. The fabrics were all new; but there were marks on the wall where a painting or mirror had been removed, and the curtain rail was not secured on one side.In addition the complementry hairdryer looked like a relic of the 70's.
We ate in the bar/bistro on the Saturday night , and this was very busy with a good buzz. The food was freshly prepared.
Unfortunately our room was cold and there was no hot water, either that night or the following morning. The management were extremely apologetic,and we were given a discount ; but one felt that perhaps a soft opening to iron out such difficulties might have helped.
Breakfast was excellent, and the service outstanding.
I wish the hotel well, and hope that the teething troubles are quickly sorted. It is in an outstanding position on a beautiful bay, with easy access to all the stunning attractions of the north coast.
Would I stay there again? Yes, but maybe in a few weeks when things have shaken out.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reganlefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Many thanks for you comments and for being so understanding when we had a few teething problems.
I hope you will return to the hotel again and have a better experience.

Kind regards

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great to see Marine open again but the only change I could see was that it has had a lick of paint.
Toilets in need of a makeover and a clean . We ate in the bistro as restaurant not open on a wednesday nite had to send starter back as bread was stale it was replaced with more stale bread sent the whole starter back, staff very helpful and the price of the starter was removed from our bill ,but then again if you can't eat it you can't be charged for it ! Enjoyed the great views and hopefully after some refurbishment the Marine Hotel will stay open for a long time as it is just what the sea front in Ballycastle needs . Good luck !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dympna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the Bistro, I can only assume that you ordered the Pate with double baked soda bread fingers, we listen and value all comments from our guests so with regards to this dish we have removed it from the menu.

I hope you will visit again and have a better experience.

Many thanks

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
284 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
790 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
12.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
688 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing