We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing haven @ The Bothy”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tasha73
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A relaxing haven @ The Bothy”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We are so pleased we chose to stay at the Bothy. It is a very well equipped cottage in a fantastic location for exploring Northern Ireland. Everything was perfect when we arrived...so clean and welcoming. Easy to find as good directions had been given beforehand. A good sized cottage with lovely welcoming owners. Hope to stay here again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Very happy to hear that you found the Bothy at Balnaholish perfect and that you hope to come back. We would love to welcome you back.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barney D
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish cottage”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Located just outside Ballycastle a great location for touring. The hosts Neil and April have created a little piece of Paradise, somewhere to relax and chill out. The attention to detail is amazing with you needs anticipated and met. Take a wish and your needs will be granted.

A place you will want to revisit.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your holiday at The Bothy. Delighted to hear that you had everything you needed to make it a relaxing holiday and that you will be back.
Warmest regards,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel t
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are thinking of visiting Northern Ireland then the Bothy at Balnaholish is the perfect place to stay. The cottage is full of character, with a large country garden, superbly furnished throughout with importantly very comfortable beds. The kitchen and bathroom are also of the highest standard. It's a credit to the owners Neil and April. Talking of whom, Neil and April both did a wonderful job of making you feel at home right away and they provided us with lots of invaluable advice. The cottage is in a great location just outside of Ballycastle and within easy reach of all the sites and attractions along the Antrim coast. In short we had a fantastic time and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Thank you so much for writing us a great review and it's super to hear that you not only found the beds very comfortable but had everything you needed to enjoy your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest regards from us both.
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Thank you Bel for your lovely review and it was a pleasure meeting you both. We have ordered the plants for the woods, which will make it even pretti Hope you will come back one day.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westward3...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't disappoint”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked The Bothy because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we were delighted to see that it lived up to all the praise. Decor, furnishings and equipment were all high quality, beds were very comfortable and it was lovely to have a fire ready for us to light as the evenings were rather cool for June. All the welcoming touches of fresh baked scones, bread and home -made preserves as well as staples such as milk, butter and eggs were much appreciated. It was a great place to stay while exploring the wonderful North Antrim coast.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
Very happy to hear that you were delighted with The Bothy and that it lived up to all your expectations.It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to book the Bothy.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon/Ki...
1 review
“Beautiful set cottage with child enchanting Garden. Wonderful 5*”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well where do I start... So many lovely things.

Neil the owner, He is a true gentleman and a great host, anything we needed he was able to supply. Went out of his way to make our stay an absolute pleasure.
His attention to detail and the whole project of building this unique cottage was just perfect. He and April left nothing out of the wonderful job they have done to make the living experience in the Bothy just perfect.

We were met by Neil on arrival who showed us around. The Bothy was a great size, plenty of room for our 2 young kids, a 3 1/2 year old and a 2 year old. Perfect for kids.they loved every minute and were sad to go home. Every room was finished beautifully and we had a lovely Lindt chocolate each and chocolates for the kids waiting on our beds. A cream tea, fridge with all the basics, milk eggs, fruit, a cupboard stocked with essentials like tea,coffee,cereal and many more.The homemade Wheaton bread and cream tea was a delight. Oh and the home made jam too. They even had a small selection of toys for the kids which was great.

The rooms were very comfortable and the kids settled very well throughout our stay.

The bathroom had a wonderful shower and was very refreshing after the very hot days we experienced during our stay.

Neil was great and provided some out door toys for the kids to play around on in the front yard area, where his lovely dog Lucy played happily with the kids. He also went out of his way and got a paddling pool out for the kids who really enjoyed that.

The garden was a delight, it was an expedition and a true wonder for our children and made it feel light they were explorers in a forest for them.
It was very well done with again Neil having gone to all the hard work of maintaining it to a very high standard, kept wild too to give a very appealing county garden feel. The kids had a great time running around, hiding and having fun. Again the attention to detail and plants and trees were a delight to look at. The bird life was great too with many varieties of birds.

We will be booking this again in the future and hopefully again next year if possible.

Thank you Neil and April for giving us such a great experience we will never forget.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
Gosh where do i start except to say thank you for such a wonderful review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and that it was a perfect place for the children.
Please come back again, and I look forward to meeting you all.
Warmest regards from us both.
April, Neil and Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be more perfect!”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was in a very quiet location with beautiful gardens. The cottage itself was perfect for us as a family. More than fully equipped and importantly very clean. Owner very helpful and friendly. Ideal location for exploring the coastline. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again. Thanks for a lovely couple of nights.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
I am thrilled to hear that that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage perfect.
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we will see you again soon.
Warmest regards,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing