We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
barossaba...
Tanunda
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Only had 2 nights here but could have stayed a month. Best bed we had on a 3 week trip, the owner was so friendly and helpful, and the cottage has everything you would need. Don't need to say much more really, if you get the chance just book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home made scones
Liked least: The lounge was a bit hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2015
Please come back again soon!
We love to hear such positive feedback, thank you so much.

Warmest regards from us both,

April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonRambo
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Friendly, charming cottage”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Cosy cottage a few miles outside Ballycastle. It's been recently renovated so the fittings, décor and furniture are of a high standard. There's a good mixture of modern (wifi, well equipped kitchen) with tradition (log and peat burning stove). Big garden, easy parking and safe for children. The family that own The Bothy live on the same plot, and are very welcoming and manage the bookings in a professional manner.
It is an easy to drive to the sites on the Antrim coast. We visited with two small children and it was a perfect size for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Log burning stove
Liked least: This is a nice place: just be aware that the two bedrooms are fairly small, as is to be expected in a bothy.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are always pleased to hear that our guests are happy and enjoy the comfort and cosy atmosphere of our traditional cottage.
The beautiful coast and all it has to offer continues to attract guests from all over the world.
We do hope you will come and see us again soon.

Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn77...
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

fantastic place to stay for a self catering cottage in Ireland. Off the main road, very quiet. Home cooked bread, marmalade, scones, jam and cream on arrival. Lovely back area to explore. Close to a lot of main tourist points in Northern Ireland. Would recommend this to any one for a beautiful, peaceful stay in Northern Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Small Bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a kind review and we are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed our little cottage and all the North Antrim coast has to offer.
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare S
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful country cottage, everything down to the last detail was perfect.”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay in this little cottage. After a long drive it was lovely to arrive to a lit stove and homemade scones and jam by the owner April. She has thought of everything you could possibly need for your stay and the decor of the cottage is gorgeous. The pictures don't do it enough justice. We would definitely like to go back sometime and will be recommending to our friends. Also if anyone is looking for a local taxi whiles staying here, I have to recommend noddys taxi, he was so friendly and looked after us all weekend anytime we called. Can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2015
It was lovely to read your kind review of our little cottage and as always great to hear that you want to come back again and are happy to recommend The Bothy to your friends.
So pleased to get such positive feedback on Paddy's Taxie, I will pass it on.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“May Day at the Bothy”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A charming little cottage in the middle of the country near to all local attractions. The cottage is in beautiful condition was spotless a warm welcome of homemade scones, wheaten bread, homemade jam and cream was waiting on our arrival. April was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for her. The cottage was quaint with its own large garden and well of the road. The interior was to a traditional character but with all the modern amenities and a proper working Wi Fi. A true 5 star hotel in a cottage, would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The weather.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2015
It was lovely to meet you and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We've just passed our annual inspection by the Tourist Board have have retained our 4 stars. Hurrah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlissyGee...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This really is the perfect holiday rental! The cottage is close enough to the main visitor attractions in the area - Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, Ballycastle & Rathlin Island, and the Dark Hedges, but is quiet and tranquil: a beautiful base for exploration of Northern Ireland. The windows overlook a woodland garden with birds singing and eating from the birdfeeder.
We stayed for 4 nights, but I could quite happily have moved in - the beds were possibly the comfiest I have ever slept in (mine at home felt quite inadequate afterwards), the shower hot, and the kitchen full of yummy snacks; we arrived to freshly-made scones which were lighter than air, homemade bread, milk, butter, eggs and a roaring log burner. There were fresh flowers in every room!
The Bothy is stocked with a wealth of new release DVDs, books and board games, so, if like us, you experience Northern Ireland in it's less hospitable mood (we had gale force winds, hail and heavy showers throughout our stay), there really is plenty to keep you entertained in this little home-from-home.
The cottage is decorated in excellent taste - in keeping with the nature if it's original use, whilst maintaining a luxury and modernity that is rare in holiday rentals within this price bracket.
April & Neil could not have been more obliging.
If you are planning a stay in this corner of the world, I would look no further... trust me, you'll want to stay forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: I wanted to stay longer!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The garden is now full of birds and a badger has taken to rolling in the wild garlic at night time! I do hope that we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NITXW01
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Bothy!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What can I say that that hasn't already been written?

This little gem of a cottage is simply awesome. Nestled away up a quiet country lane less than 5 miles from Ballycastle. A great place to retreat far from the 'madding crowd' that just oozes opulent charm, from the kitchen to the water closet and everywhere in between!

As soon as you arrive you will receive a very warm welcome from your host, April.

The 'welcome pack' is the most generious that we have ever come across, home made wheaten bread & scones (we brought the remainder of the wheaten home), jam, marmalade, eggs, milk, orange juice etc, even a bottle of wine, not to mention the little treats in the bed rooms. in fact every room had a little treat ... Incredible!

The decor throughout is just amazing also, like you just walked into a page of 'country living magazine" - beautiful drapes and bed linen with a cosy lived in feel about the whole place.

Forget about your hotels and guest houses, this is the place to be! A perfect base if you are holidaying around the north coast.

Well done April!

ps; great WiFi reception also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2015
Having just finished reading your most generous review of our little cottage I can honestly say that I am thrilled you were so very happy with everything.
Our dream was to be able to provide a place where one could completely relax in the peace and quiet.of the countryside but still close enough to the outside world should you want to explore the beautiful coast and all it has to offer.All the little extras are our way of saying a very warm welcome to our home.
Hope to see you again soon!
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing