We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Arrived about 8.30pm and had to spend the entire night sitting on hard seats in the kitchen - a large group was using the living room as they were on a planning weekend away. They had a sign posted on the door "private meeting". We sat until 12.30am in the kitchen hoping to get into the living room, but to no avail.

Our room was small and the window would not shut (handle was broken off). This meant the room was not secure as the room was on the ground floor. Unfortunately our shower had not been cleaned properly as the next morning there was a large amount of hair in the plughole as I got into the shower.

As I went to have my breakfast, the large group from the previous night had moved into smaller groups, one of which was meeting in the kitchen. I had to eat as quietly as possible for fear of disturbing them!!

Not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2006

My family of three stayed here on our arrival in Northern Ireland -- we flew into Belfast Int'l, rented a car and drove straight to Ballintoy. We chose a hostel because we were travelling with a teenager and looking to widen the field of social interaction midway through our travels. This hostel was perfect - we had quiet clean room, ensuite bathroom, and good international company - a family with teens from Spain, a family from Germany, and young women travellers all were our fellow guests while here. You can walk from the hostel to Carrick-a-rede, and you can walk from the hostel to the remarkable Ballintoy harbor. Some of the most gorgeous, picturesque landscape! The hostel proprietors are very kind, helped us get our laundry done and dried, it was a relief to INEXPENSIVELY cook a few of our own meals before returning to the pub grub world.

From this location you can visit the Giant's Causeway first thing in the morning, beating all the crowds -- it was glorious.

I recommend phoning (or faxing?) the hostel to make reservations, as they aren't entirely up to speed with the internet: phone --- fax --- email ---

4  Thank ferfninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Callisto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANTAISE442016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank dilui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raquel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stephane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
289 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
794 reviews
5.0 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
114 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bushmills Hostel
Bushmills Hostel
#9 of 11 in Bushmills
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center

Address: 42A Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range: $44 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Island View Hostel And Conference Center Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing