We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great value hostel”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in a double room with en suite, all basic but very clean, the en suite was more like a wet room. There were no towels provided but luckily we always travel with some.
We didn’t use the communal areas as we got breakfast out and about but they looked large and well kept.
Very helpful host, we arrived quite late and they were very happy to help even though it was 9pm and they were eating their supper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
10
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My impression it's smth better then hostel (it was quite calm and we took a so cold suite so didnt need to share showers) but worse then b&b. Wouldn't say that it's the best value for money too. OK, paying more then 40 quid, you might as well get some soap in a bathroom, never mind shampoo or shower gel. Also need to pay extra for the towel so make sure you have yours. Kitchen is very big, with several fridges it does look clean, however there was smth wrong with smell of food in the fridges. I was also quite picky about taking a shower. Summarizing, it feels like this property was used a lot and it's ok to get a night or two but personally, I wouldnt book for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our group of geologists stayed here for two nights during our field trip exploring the local geology. We found it to be an excellent, affordable, well-located "base camp."
Accomodation is basic, as one would expect from a hostel. Very clean. Water pressure in the shower quite low unfortunately.
Decent breakfast which can be arranged with the staff. I think they even gave us free bananas which weren't part of the breakfast. Just a nice gesture.
Mobile reception is non-existent in these parts, but there is a pay-phone. Staff super helpful when we needed to sort something out on-line by letting us use their computer/fax.
Pubs are a minute away by foot. We tried two different ones and enjoyed a few pints.

Would definitely recommend this hostel and group leader said that this hostel could be used as a base for another group of students from our uni in the future.

Hostel staff excellent and genuinely concerned if there are any problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too close to the reception/kitchen/tv-room. : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaOrionis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is the first time I have ever stayed anywhere calling itself a hostel, so it’s difficult to compare. The establishment is clean and has a large comfortable lounge and a large well-equipped kitchen/dining room. A bedroom 10ft square seemed a bit cramped to contain four people in two bunk beds but I guess that’s what I should expect at this price. There are two pub/restaurants close by – the Carrick-A-Rede was fine.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Sheep Island View is a great base for exploring the impressive Causeway Coast. Located in Ballintoy, a small town with bus service, it's only 1 km away from the Carrick-a-Rede visitors centre. After visiting this famous ropebridge, a walk along the Causeway Coast is quite nice, and allows you to witness its impressive cliffs. You can then take the bus to get back to your hostel, or get a cab; the fare should be around 10 pounds.
The kitchen at this hostel is huge and very well equipped. There's no breakfast served, but you can prepare anything you want here without issues.
Only minor nitpick is that sometimes our room and/or bathroom felt a bit cold, and this was at the end of April, beginning of May.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Chiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Was brought here one April weekend at the start of Spring a few years ago, and the memory of this place has stayed with me ever since! The staff are so friendly, and the kitchen is large and perfect for cooking lunch or whatever. Also, the Carrick-a-rede Bridge is within walking distance and the harbour is just down the road. Bring a jacket as the sea can send a cold breeze every once in a while.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

To Josie and Shamus and Aileen once again nice to return after 11 years and find them so friendly. Just a treasure of a spot. Nobody could be unhappy here. You could stay a week or more as is it so close to many natural attractions. Plus the historic Bushmills Brewery.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara255316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
0.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
261 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
634 reviews
6.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
5.0 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#4 of 24 in Ballycastle
108 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center

Property: Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
Address: 42A Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheep Island View Hostel And Conference Center Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing