We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious cottage in stunning surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a lovely two night stay in 'stone chat' cottage. When we arrived everything was set up beautifully for our arrival, the house was warm, equipment for a turf fire was left as well as the ingredients for tea and cake. The cottage was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated with a magnificent view of the surrounding area. There were leaflets on things to do in Ballycastle, as well as two large flatscreen TVs with freeview for entertainment. The cottage also had its own wifi connection which was very fast. The area outside the cottage was also of interest, as it has a famine graveyard and is home to many animals (including a very friendly goat). There is room for parking onsite, and the cottages are a 2 minute drive from the town of Ballycastle. All in all a wonderful idyllic place to stay, we will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dervobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roisinmcginn, Owner at Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and your custom.

Hope to see you again some time!

Roisin McGinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my family booked both cottages for a number of days over the Halloween holidays. We had stayed in one of the cottages previously and had a great experience, so were lookign forward to returning. We were so touched at all the extra effort Roisin had went to for the holidays- pumkins at the front doors and both houses decorated for Halloween and sweets left out for the children as well as some essentials for ourselves. The cottages are idyllic for a family getaway, as they are well off the main road, meaning the children can roam freely and the turf fire makes the nights very cosy. The cottages are a 5 minute drive to Ballycastle in one direction and Ballintoy the other way. They are very handy for visiting the rope bridge, the giant's causeway, bushmills, etc. We loved our stay and will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArmaghAisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We wanted for nothing during our stay at the Crockatinney Cottages. Roisin made sure all the bases were covered, she knocked it out for six!

We were on our honeymoon visiting Ireland and Northern Ireland. We are so happy to have stayed at Rosin's, and plan to do so any time we are in the area. How can you not, when you are able to look at Scotland from the living room window enjoying tea?

We found monogrammed towels on our bed. Along with a very large box of Cadbury chocolates and a pint of milk for our tea in the fridge.

The goat and chicken neighbors are priceless.

If you do spend time in that area, make sure to visit Kinbane Head, well worth the effort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at this guest house as a treat after a very hard week or two in my life. This place is a piece of pure magic run by a wonderful woman Caroline.The food is tasty,warm,and one could eat all one desires.The bedroom is 5 star,clean,tidy,warm and a pleasure to be in..Inaddition to,this the bed is heaven,good quality mattresses ..you will not be missing home believe me.On top of this the view,is,out of this world ,the hostess a gem ....if you do nothing ever in Ireland visit this place of pure magic and peace
Judewhyte@ Ireland.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judewhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second time staying at Crockatinney Cottages, this time we stayed in Stonechat Cottage. The Accommodation itself was everything we needed and more, Roisin was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. She even put flowers, a card, a balloon and Champayne in the house for our arrival as we were celebrating our anniversary!
The Beds were comfortable, the house was warm and very clean. Maybe they could do with a few extra TV channels but as we were a large family and only staying for the weekend it didn't matter to us in the slightest.
Next time we are going to book for a full week as there is so much to do in the area and the cottages have everything you need when travelling with small children.
I would highly recommend these cottages to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

Room Tip: As I have stayed in both cottages I can highly recommend both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrlaAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the self catering cottage stonechat at crockatinny, it was all too short a trip, the cottage was immaculately clean, and the decor beautiful,the kitchen well equipped with everything you need, the rooms large and very comforatble, real homely, a true gem. The surroundings and views are spectacular, a piece of paradise.
Roisin the manager is a lovely girl,couldn't have been more helpful.

Marian & Stephen Co.Kerry

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recentlly stayed in a family room for 3 nights bed and breakfast. First impressions of the house were that it looked in need of some care and attention - paintwork, garden and general tidiness of the grounds. However inside it was absolutely fine - clean and tidy - with a lovely friendly host. Our room was a good size with two doubles and a single bed. Nice and clean with very comfortable beds. The decor was unusual - black/silver and shocking pink - but it really grew on us. The water pressure was low for toilet and shower use but I don't think there's very much can be done to solve that except to be patient. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning and the lovely view from the dining room.
It would be nice if the outside could be improved as it is a beautiful house in a magnificent setting but of course this would be expensive and the owners have perhaps decided to concentrate on hospitality, which was very good. Overall our first impressions proved wrong and we would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandabrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
0 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#8 of 24 in Ballycastle
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
708 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 24 in Ballycastle
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#16 of 24 in Ballycastle
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages

Address: 80A Whitepark Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range: $143 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stonechat" and "Cuckoo's Nest" are set in idyllic surroundings, which include a 19th-century famine graveyard, a fishing lake, children's play area and private car parking. They are also home to resident rustic alarm clock -- Rusty the Rooster! This is just the place to get away from it all and experience local northern Irish nature and history. Prices include utilities and fuel for an authentic Irish turf fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockatinney Self-Catering Cottages Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing