We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Kitchen
Conservatory
Bedroom 1
View from Bedroom 3
Tee time at Ballycastle golf club
Take a trip to Dunluce castle only 10mins away
Visit the World Heritage Site of the Giants Causeway only 10mins away.
There are also plenty of seals around the island all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
respublic...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“comfortable house”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice house.A little poor when you look outside but very cosy and with a lot of rooms and bathrooms inside.With the bus (just near) and feet you visits the Antrim coast and the Causeway Coast Rathlin Isalnd is just in front of you ,you can see the ferry from your bed.So it's possible to come without car and to enjoy a nice and quiet stay; juliet (from Paris)

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nenemcc
1 review
“amazing cottage great location”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

our stay here was amazing we had a wonderfull week and it was a great locaion very close to the beach booking again for this year as we enjoyed our stay so much the owners were amaing and very helpful, looking forward to this year

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajls04
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is situated in a perfect location for touring the area around Ballycastle. The Lammas Fair was going on while we were there and it helped to be out of the crazyness!
Seamus was very prompt in dealing with all our requests. The cottage itself is very adequate for a group of six and we had a lot of fun playing cards in the sun room. Our only complaints were lack of sufficient towels and running out of toilet paper. But there is a store just down the way and we picked up our own. I will say that the frig and freezer need a good cleaning - lots of leftovers from previous renters - some of it quite old. And we had a bit of trouble getting continuous hot water in the showers.
All in all, I would definitely recommend Rose Cottage to future visitors.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitstopPe...
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Plenty of room, brilliantly close to all amenities and lovely outside sitting area.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Decor needs updating. Sadly lounge stank of cigarette smoke, no DVD player and tumble drier didn't work. Plenty of room and sooo close to all amenities.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to shops and tennis courts and promenade
Liked least: Smoky smell in lounge - couldn't sit in there and fact that tumble drier didn't work
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2014
I appreciate any comments as to how the cottage may be improved. I will be updating the cottage in September where the living room will get a new carpet and will be painted. There is now a dvd player and the tumble dryer is available on request.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica...
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, roomy and clean”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Rose Cottage. I went with my husband, daughter and grandson and there was plenty of room. It was close to the beach with easy access to the bars and restaurants in the middle of the town. The house was very comfortable and very clean.
The only drawback is the central heating, we went at the end of October/early November and it was quite cold. The central heating was set to go on very early for 2 hours in the morning (unfortunately it went off before we got up) and 2 hours in the evening, the control was behind a Perspex box that was locked so we had no heating most of the time and it was very cold.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach
Liked least: Only 4 hours heating a day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayniegri...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This cottage is exceptionally warm and inviting with a great central location.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My cousin and I arrived a little later than scheduled. We popped down to the pub and met Seamus. We all walked back to Rose Cottage and Seamus showed us around and answered questions. He also left his mobile for any further questions. It is a family owned cottage in very good condition. The cottage looks small from the street, but, once inside, there is loads of room. It is immaculately kept and has anything and everything you could need on a holiday away from home. If you find you have forgotten something (hairdryer), you only need to let them know and they do their best to accomodate. I would stay there again and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone travelling to Ballycastle or the surrounding area.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm atmosphere and privacy.
Liked least: That I could not stay longer....
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claydonle...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location and house”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at rose cottage for a week with my husband and elderly mother. The cottage is in a great location and the house itself had loads of room especially as there was only 3 of us staying in it. It has everything in it you would require. Shaumus and his wife sharon are very nice and when we had a problem they came straight away. There was no dvd as advertised but there is sky tv. Ballycastle is a fabulous place . Would highly recommend . Bernadette claydon.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing