We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent!”
Review of The Whins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely B&B. It is located close to Ballycastle and all the major attractions along the coast. The owners: Niki and Paul are very friendly and helpful hosts. The highlight of our stay was delicious breakfast with homemade bread. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggynath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
You're very kind; thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope you can come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nailsworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed three night at The Whins and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel at home, we had a modern bedroom with lovely views of the surrounding countryside and a very comfortable bed. We also had a private bathroom which we really appreciated. Niki was particularly helpful providing us with information on places to eat and visit in the local area, she lent us maps and leaflets and even booked our places on the ferry to Rathlin Island for us! The breakfasts Niki provided each morning were excellent and we enjoyed the wide range of freshly made home made breads especially the soda farls. We would recommend anyone visiting the area to stay at The Whins as Niki and Paul make their guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Best wishes to you both, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Try and imagine all the things you want in a B&B - well this one has them all! Easy to find, great welcome, tea on arrival, modern room, comfortable bed, fantastic bathroom, lovely view from bedroom, free wifi, good recommendations for eating out, local maps and advice. In the morning our hostess Nikki then demonstrated that she was also of master chef standard, serving us her speciality of Eggs Whinslet - you just can't settle for plain eggs and bacon again! It was really lovely staying at The Whins and we recommend it to anyone. Standards here are the highest. At £75 for a double room, we believe it represented very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks so much for this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend and it was the best B&B we stayed at in Ireland. Not only was the bed the most comfortable, we were made to feel at ease and very welcome. Nikki - your bread is amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and we were even given chairs to sit outside as the weather was so beautiful. Brian the labrador is daft and kept us entertained. The information tabour things to do was up to date and frankly we would have paid more to be able to stay in such a friendly place. Do try the poached eggs with dill!

Room Tip: The "swimming pool" above should not be 5 spots as there isn't one. The mattresses ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WettonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
A lovely review from lovely people! Thanks so much for taking the time, and please do come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

a warm welcome, a nice room, a perfect breakfast and lots of information prepared for bikers, hikers, sightseers, a.s.o. at nikis and pauls B&B you feel at home.
many thanks for a most memorable stay at the causeway coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes to you both, and we hope you'll come and visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently had a second visit to the Whins B&B, and was equally delighted to spend a lovely weekend. Comfortable, quiet, great breakfast, great hosts. Close to Ballycastle and Bushmills and not forgetting the fab coast line... Enjoy :) Many thanks to Niki and Paul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for another great review! It was lovely to have you stay again, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Argentierre La Bessée
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and Niki and Paul were great. They were welcoming and friendly and full of local knowledge. It's not many places that boast freshly laid eggs for breakfast and they were delicious. The room was warm and comfortable and I slept soundly. I would stay here again and I look forward to my return visit soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baron66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this great review for us! Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
4.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
636 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
262 reviews
7.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,752 reviews
4.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#4 of 24 in Ballycastle
108 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins B&B

Property: The Whins B&B
Address: 58 Straid Road | Giants Causeway, Ballycastle BT54 6NP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable accommodation in a lovely rural setting, close to Ballycastle, Ballintoy and the Giant's Causeway. We pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients in our breakfasts, packed lunches and evening snacks (available on request, to be booked in advance). We have two spacious double guest rooms, both ensuite, one with a kingsize bed and small adjoining dressing room, the other with an option of a superking size bed or twin beds. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whins B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing