We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a B&B as you wish to find”
Review of The Whins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“a B&B as you wish to find”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

a warm welcome, a nice room, a perfect breakfast and lots of information prepared for bikers, hikers, sightseers, a.s.o. at nikis and pauls B&B you feel at home.
many thanks for a most memorable stay at the causeway coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we very much appreciate your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes to you both, and we hope you'll come and visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently had a second visit to the Whins B&B, and was equally delighted to spend a lovely weekend. Comfortable, quiet, great breakfast, great hosts. Close to Ballycastle and Bushmills and not forgetting the fab coast line... Enjoy :) Many thanks to Niki and Paul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for another great review! It was lovely to have you stay again, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Argentierre La Bessée
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and Niki and Paul were great. They were welcoming and friendly and full of local knowledge. It's not many places that boast freshly laid eggs for breakfast and they were delicious. The room was warm and comfortable and I slept soundly. I would stay here again and I look forward to my return visit soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baron66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this great review for us! Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After finishing the first 3 weeks of our 1 month travel through beautiful Ireland we stayed at "The Whins" for 2 nights. We booked the room with enclosed bathroom and were quite happy about the choice we made. We had plenty of space, a heavenly comfy bed and a super clean room. Niki and Paul were fantastic hosts, made us feel very welcome, highlighted all the things we should see and even provided us with detailed maps for the length of our stay. Breakfast was more than delicious, the homemade bread and jams just wonderful and the presentation of all things cooked very appealing. You will be tempted to eat well too much every morning, that's assured. We also liked the fact that they sent us an e-mail about the upcoming events in the surrounding towns a couple of days in advance, nice gesture...

Room Tip: go for the bigger room with enclosed bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review; we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Lovely to meet you both, and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent one night here at the start of the Causeway Coast Path and had a lovely, restful stay in an incredibly pleasant room with the most delicious home made biscuits. Niki and Paul were marvellous hosts and were incredibly helpful in navigating my journey from Belfast to Ballycastle. The breakfast was unrivalled with a ridiculously tasty Full Irish which introduced me to the joys of Soda Farl. The Whins also has that precious commodity that every traveller wishes to enjoy in the morning which is a cafetiere of quality coffee. Thank you Niki. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and will very much look forward to come back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much! As we know you're a very keen walker, please do have a look at our website special offers page as we have now completed work on our new walking package 'The Causeway Hiker': hopefully it will be of interest to you. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the first B&B we stayed in as we began our two week holiday and it was a delight. Niki & Paul were very welcoming and are very gracious hosts. It is not far from Ballycastle--a nice drive in the countryside. Niki had yummy sandwiches with homemade bread and hot tea & coffee waiting for us when we arrived. We had the Dunluce room ensuite, which was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was delicious and Niki was so thoughtful as to make sure I had enough to eat due to the fact that I cannot have dairy products. My husband had the full breakfast, which he thoroughly enjoyed. We also pre-ordered packed lunches to take with us on our onward journey. They were delicious and not having to take time to search for a place for lunch saved time. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast and if we ever return to N. Ireland we will definitely stay at The Whins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope to see you again at the Whins the next time you visit Ireland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three nights at The Whins and had a lovely time. Paul and Niki were incredible hosts. We found out that we had lived in the same city in England at the same time. The food was exquisite,especially the Irish soda bread. We would certainly look to come back if we ever get back to Northern Ireland.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnTraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and for your kind comments. We remember you well and enjoyed your stay and your company; has the latest series of Downton Abbey hit Canada yet?? We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
4.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
636 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
261 reviews
7.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
4.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#4 of 24 in Ballycastle
108 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins B&B

Property: The Whins B&B
Address: 58 Straid Road | Giants Causeway, Ballycastle BT54 6NP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable accommodation in a lovely rural setting, close to Ballycastle, Ballintoy and the Giant's Causeway. We pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients in our breakfasts, packed lunches and evening snacks (available on request, to be booked in advance). We have two spacious double guest rooms, both ensuite, one with a kingsize bed and small adjoining dressing room, the other with an option of a superking size bed or twin beds. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whins B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing