We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of The Whins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three nights at The Whins and had a lovely time. Paul and Niki were incredible hosts. We found out that we had lived in the same city in England at the same time. The food was exquisite,especially the Irish soda bread. We would certainly look to come back if we ever get back to Northern Ireland.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CdnTraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhinsBandB, Owner at The Whins B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and for your kind comments. We remember you well and enjoyed your stay and your company; has the latest series of Downton Abbey hit Canada yet?? We hope to see you again the next time you visit Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 137 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed at The Whins for the past three years. The Whins location is an ideal base for exploring the Antrim coast. Paul and Niki have given us plenty of information for places to visit, that is why we have to keep going back as there is so many beautiful sites to see you just cant do it all in one go. Our son enjoyed collecting the eggs for breakfast and our bicycle rides where most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our family have stayed in all the rooms and found them to be spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed one night with Niki and Paul while travelling the coastal trail. I could easily have stayed longer. The Whins is out in the countryside a short drive out of Ballycastle. We found it easily. It's a lovely quiet location back from the road.

We had a warm welcome from the family and tea and scones served up to warm us up after a windy day out exploring.

The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable with nice clean linen. The bathroom was modern with a shower unit. The shower head holder needed replacing but Nikki apologised for the inconvenience of having to hold the shower head and I'm sure it was fixed not long after.

We had a very comfortable night there and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. The family have a lovely black Labrador dog which isn't allowed down in the guest quarters but being a dog lover I was introduced to him in the hallway and gave him a big tummy rub - lovely dog, would have happily taken him home with me!

If I'm fortunate enough to back in the area I would make The Whins my first choice to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NomadicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the best B&B we've stayed in! Very comfortable bedroom with a big nice bed. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Many choices on the breakfast menu, wich was delicious and generous. But most of all, we had a very warm welcome by the lovely hosts. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nchabrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed with Nikki & Paul back in August and we can honestly say they changed our opinion of b&b's. We were travelling with our 2 girls and they made us feel so welcome, it was like a home away from home. We were blessed with great weather which made our break really amazing and with great tips from Nikki we found some lovely spots along the coast. The breakfast was really really good, fresh and with their own unique classics...as for the bread, well you'll have to visit to experience it! A true gem in the Antrim coast, well done guys and we'll be back...hopefully on our own the next time, sorry girls!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Edel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Paul and Nikki are genuinely friendly, we booked for a three day stay and they helped us not only in ensuringwe had everything we needed for our accommodation but also helping with our excursions. We booked the Huffin and Puffin package which gave us a day cycling on Rathlin Island, and the next day free to cycle around the beautiful causeway coast. The home made breads and scones were outstanding, along with the locally sourced breakfast and packed lunches provided.
We booked the Dunlace room which is furnished very well, home made biscuits and real coffee provided in the room demonstrated a personal touch. The private bathroom is large, very clean and the bath very welcome after day's cycling!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LouMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked to stay 2 nights after reading all the positive reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed! We received a very friendly welcome on arrival by Niki and Paul who helped carry our bags from the car. After showing us our excellent room (the Dunluce) we were offered tea/coffee which was served with delicious home-made scones and jam. The room had all the facilities you could ask for including tea/coffee facilities (which included fresh coffee & cafetiere!). Niki explained they didn't provide the usual UHT milk cartons but provided us with fresh milk (either in a jug or thermos flask) - fresh coffee with proper milk - beats instant with UHT anyway and was most welcome! Homemade biscuits complimented the drinks and were very tasty. The room itself was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were fantastic ranging from a full 'Ulster fry' to pancakes (with fresh rasperries!) or bagel with cream cheese and bacon. Freshly baked bread and soda farls were on offer along with 3 different jams and marmalade (recipes for the bread, biscuits and scones were provided in the room info folder so we can try them at home - great idea and looking forward to trying them!). Niki & Paul were excellent hosts who couldnt do enough to help and were more than willing to provide information and recommendations for eating out and sightseeing.
Would we recommend The Whins? Definitely. Would we like to return someday? Absolutely... Is this B&B value for money? Without a doubt!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
0.4 mi away
Maghernahar House B&B
Maghernahar House B&B
#5 of 24 in Ballycastle
61 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Castle Bed & Breakfast
The Castle Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 24 in Ballycastle
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 24 in Ballycastle
176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#8 of 24 in Ballycastle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins B&B

Address: 58 Straid Road | Giants Causeway, Ballycastle BT54 6NP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable accommodation in a lovely rural setting, close to Ballycastle, Ballintoy and the Giant's Causeway. We pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients in our breakfasts, packed lunches and evening snacks (available on request, to be booked in advance). We have two spacious double guest rooms, both ensuite, one with a kingsize bed and small adjoining dressing room, the other with an option of a superking size bed or twin beds. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whins B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing