We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, welcoming and very comfortable”
Review of The Whins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxed, welcoming and very comfortable”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed one night with Niki and Paul while travelling the coastal trail. I could easily have stayed longer. The Whins is out in the countryside a short drive out of Ballycastle. We found it easily. It's a lovely quiet location back from the road.

We had a warm welcome from the family and tea and scones served up to warm us up after a windy day out exploring.

The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable with nice clean linen. The bathroom was modern with a shower unit. The shower head holder needed replacing but Nikki apologised for the inconvenience of having to hold the shower head and I'm sure it was fixed not long after.

We had a very comfortable night there and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. The family have a lovely black Labrador dog which isn't allowed down in the guest quarters but being a dog lover I was introduced to him in the hallway and gave him a big tummy rub - lovely dog, would have happily taken him home with me!

If I'm fortunate enough to back in the area I would make The Whins my first choice to stay in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the best B&B we've stayed in! Very comfortable bedroom with a big nice bed. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Many choices on the breakfast menu, wich was delicious and generous. But most of all, we had a very warm welcome by the lovely hosts. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nchabrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Nikki & Paul back in August and we can honestly say they changed our opinion of b&b's. We were travelling with our 2 girls and they made us feel so welcome, it was like a home away from home. We were blessed with great weather which made our break really amazing and with great tips from Nikki we found some lovely spots along the coast. The breakfast was really really good, fresh and with their own unique classics...as for the bread, well you'll have to visit to experience it! A true gem in the Antrim coast, well done guys and we'll be back...hopefully on our own the next time, sorry girls!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Edel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Paul and Nikki are genuinely friendly, we booked for a three day stay and they helped us not only in ensuringwe had everything we needed for our accommodation but also helping with our excursions. We booked the Huffin and Puffin package which gave us a day cycling on Rathlin Island, and the next day free to cycle around the beautiful causeway coast. The home made breads and scones were outstanding, along with the locally sourced breakfast and packed lunches provided.
We booked the Dunlace room which is furnished very well, home made biscuits and real coffee provided in the room demonstrated a personal touch. The private bathroom is large, very clean and the bath very welcome after day's cycling!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LouMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay 2 nights after reading all the positive reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed! We received a very friendly welcome on arrival by Niki and Paul who helped carry our bags from the car. After showing us our excellent room (the Dunluce) we were offered tea/coffee which was served with delicious home-made scones and jam. The room had all the facilities you could ask for including tea/coffee facilities (which included fresh coffee & cafetiere!). Niki explained they didn't provide the usual UHT milk cartons but provided us with fresh milk (either in a jug or thermos flask) - fresh coffee with proper milk - beats instant with UHT anyway and was most welcome! Homemade biscuits complimented the drinks and were very tasty. The room itself was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were fantastic ranging from a full 'Ulster fry' to pancakes (with fresh rasperries!) or bagel with cream cheese and bacon. Freshly baked bread and soda farls were on offer along with 3 different jams and marmalade (recipes for the bread, biscuits and scones were provided in the room info folder so we can try them at home - great idea and looking forward to trying them!). Niki & Paul were excellent hosts who couldnt do enough to help and were more than willing to provide information and recommendations for eating out and sightseeing.
Would we recommend The Whins? Definitely. Would we like to return someday? Absolutely... Is this B&B value for money? Without a doubt!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just got back to England from our trip to N.Ireland. Our 3 night’s @ The Whins, near the North coast, made this part of our 2 week holiday a truly awesome experience. Niki & Paul made our stay welcoming/relaxing/fun & their location was easily accessible to the main site seeing attractions of the North Coast! They were warm & welcoming with a truly fabulous breakfast! Without doubt, the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Our son & daughter had a great time being encouraged & spoilt by Niki & we would highly recommend The Whins to anyone who is wishing to stay in the area!!
Relaxing, luxurious, friendly & fun all in one!

Room Tip: Family room easily sleeps 4 & breakfast is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_Sheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My nephew and I spent 3 nights at the Whins. The Niki and Paul were excellent hosts. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy. We got packed lunches with our package and they were the best of our entire trip. Niki makes some very fine bread. Paul drove us places and knew all about the area which is beautiful. Big, soft towels were a treat! Thanks for welcoming us to your home.

Room Tip: We were in the Dunluce room which we enjoyed. Big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMC_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
4.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
636 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
261 reviews
7.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
4.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#4 of 24 in Ballycastle
108 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins B&B

Property: The Whins B&B
Address: 58 Straid Road | Giants Causeway, Ballycastle BT54 6NP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable accommodation in a lovely rural setting, close to Ballycastle, Ballintoy and the Giant's Causeway. We pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients in our breakfasts, packed lunches and evening snacks (available on request, to be booked in advance). We have two spacious double guest rooms, both ensuite, one with a kingsize bed and small adjoining dressing room, the other with an option of a superking size bed or twin beds. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whins B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing