We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit!”
Review of The Whins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins B&B
Ranked #3 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our return visit!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed it so much last year that we decided to stay again! A warm welcome with amazing breakfasts( I recommend the 'Whinslet special' mmmmmmmmmm!) It is so nice to be able to relax and enjoy your time on holiday especially if you are in someones home. The welcome is so warm you feel part of the family but there is the space and freedom if you prefer it. We were two adults and one child and shared the Dunluce bedroom which had plenty of space and was immaculate. The eggs at breakfast tasted wonderful as they are laid by their own chickens and Niki bakes her own wonderful breads daily. There were other guests staying at the same time from America and then France they too seemed to enjoy their stay. Ideally situated to see attractions along the Causeway/Antrim Coast and convenient to travel to Belfast for the day to see the Titanic Museum. We would reccomend this B and B. A home from home!!
On rating i pressed the wrong button about fitness centre and didnt know how to get rid of it, as there is not a fitness centre sorry! You could chase the chickens in the field though! Looking forward to our next visit!!!

Room Tip: Dunluce room is en-suite which we prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at The Whins in July 2012 during our trip to Northern Ireland.

The 3 nights we spent here were the best of our trip! The place is lovely and quiet. Our room (Dunluce) was spacious, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We appreciated Niki's attention to details (Yankee candles & homemade biscuits in the room). Breakfast was the best we have ever had (the Whinlet is delicious), even better than in a 5* hotel! We REALLY enjoyed the bread, homemade by Niki. Everytime we got home, she asked us if we wanted a piece of cake with our tea, how could we resist?

Niki and Paul were very helpful. Niki is lovely, she was attentive to our needs, she does her best for her guests! We even had the chance to explore the Causeway Costal route with Paul as our personal driver for one day. He knows the area very well and made us laugh a lot! We will never forget that day!!!

Niki and Paul went out of their way to make our visit in Ballycastle a wonderful experience.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clorofil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

You can't possibly have a holiday in Northern Ireland without staying at the Whins, at least for one night, as a treat. Nikki and Paul are perfect hosts, and we did appreciate their kind and warm welcome. The food is excellent - especially the wheat bread- the bedroom is very cosy and comfortable. On top of it, you will get good advice for walks and places to see. We won't forget our stay at the Whins and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I am not surprised that everyone has rated this place as 5 stars. The place was lovely, the beds ridiculously comfortable, and the breakfast! I will dream about this breakfast for a while yet, Niki's homemade bread and Paul's work with the eggs! (The eggs all comes from the chickens wandering around the property.)

We arranged to do the "Huffin' and Puffin'" package and Nike Paul arranged our bike rentals and ferry transit to Rathlin, as well as providing maps to explore the Causeway and packed lunches both days. The standard bike rental in the area is a little creakier and clunkier than a regular cyclist is used to, so we ended up driving around the second day, but it was lovely still (and Niki and Paul offered us their own bikes, so really our only good excuse for driving was the iffy weather!).

The place is a little outside of town, but there are always cabs if you planned on stumbling home after a night at the pub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Well I can't really fault this place. The welcome, facilities, rooms, food, helpfulness of the hosts etc, etc all was perfect and I'd be happy to recommend The Whins B&B to all and sundry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Recently toured all of the UK with a group of friends from South Africa. The Whins was easily the best B+B. Such a warm welcome from Niki and Paul, spotlessly clean and very comfortable rooms. The home made bread was an added bonus! Perfect base to explore the beautiful North Antrim coast

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our three days at The Whins. It was modern, clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent. Quiet at night, and we slept well. Good value for money. Highly recommended.

The B and B is in the country, about 4 miles west of Ballycastle. My "Highly recommended" assumes that the reader has a car and is able to drive into Ballycastle to buy an evening meal at one of the pubs or restaurants.

The young couple who run this B and B have only been doing it for eighteen months, but are already experts. Paul is a quiet-spoken but very pleasant Irishman. His wife Nicki is English (from Nottingham, she told me), but has whole-heartedly embraced irish culture. She has taught herself to bake a really good Soda Bread, which she serves for breakfast. Delicious. And potato bread, wheaten bread, a full Irish breakfast, etc. The only thing that she has not managed to do yet is to speak with an Irish accent, but in all other respects she out-Irishes the irish. Their natural friendliness, not too pushy and not too stand-offish, added to our enjoyment of this part of our holiday in Northern ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
2.4 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.2 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 24 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins B&B

Property: The Whins B&B
Address: 58 Straid Road | Giants Causeway, Ballycastle BT54 6NP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfortable accommodation in a lovely rural setting, close to Ballycastle, Ballintoy and the Giant's Causeway. We pride ourselves on using fresh, locally sourced ingredients in our breakfasts, packed lunches and evening snacks (available on request, to be booked in advance). We have two spacious double guest rooms, both ensuite, one with a kingsize bed and small adjoining dressing room, the other with an option of a superking size bed or twin beds. Both rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whins B&B Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing