We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy accident”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillsea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 24 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were redirected here after a mix up with our original booking elsewhere in the town and were feeling more than a bit disgruntled, a feeling not improved when no-one was in when we got there. No matter though, a minute or so after we arrived a happy smiling Marcus and Mary appeared and welcomed us to their wonderful home - reserving a special welcome for our dog Sammy. The rooms were fine and very homely but the breakfast was something else, it was sensational! Marcus' home baked breads and scones, fresh fruit, and an Ulster fry that took an extreme effort to get through! A ten minute stroll from the harbour I thouroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Hillsea Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week in May, was due to come with a friend, who was unfortunately taken ill at the last minute, Marcus helped me with the cost as there are no single rooms, he didnt have to! I had a great week, it is in a nice residential area, very clean and comfortable. Not far down to the Quay or town centre. First class and filling breakfast. In all I honesty I could not fault Hillsea and I will most certainly look no further when returning to Ballycastle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vee2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hillsea is a decent good value B&B near the town centre of Ballycastle. Some of Marcus' business skills could do with improvement- such as being hard to contact on arrival, not having correctly recorded our booking and not having card facilities. However he did provide very useful local information. I ended up staying in a room which was not usually used for guests and had no night toilet. The breakfast was excellent. This was a grown up family trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and stayed here for 8 days in September. The owner, Marcus Jameson and his wife were charming hosts, and made our stay very pleasant indeed.Our room was of reasonable size, with a comfortable bed. Furnishings were basic but adequate. A nice ensuite shower room was included. Room service was first class. Fresh towels each day and everything left clean and tidy by the wonderful Sandra who has worked for the owners for 20 years continuously. She also served breakfasts with super efficiency and a lovely smile. The breakfast are superb. The full Ulster menu including soda and potato breads. Marcus makes his own delicious wheaten bread and scones every day. Every day we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit salad and our own bowl of fresh strawberries ! The Hillsea stands at the top of a quiet residential road in a very good class area, about 2/3 minutes drive from Ballycastle town centre. There is off-road car parking for guests at the front of the guest house. There is a lovely large garden at the back which guests can use. This is a wonderful place to stay if you want to explore this beautiful part of the North Antrim coast. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentishlad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a perfect find, as you walk in the beautiful staricase meets you and you know it's going to be a good visit. It's brightly decorated and feels ariy and light. I booked 2 double rooms and had the nervous worries that because it was my responsibiltiy the pressure was on to find somewhere decent. Well Hillsea blew the decent hopes out of the water and I will be back asap. My dad and his wife were over from Canada and I wanted to spend a night away with them by flying over from Liverpool and all travelling to the North Coast. Not only was I so happy with the place every member of our party was just made up. The sun shone on us all weekend, the garden out the back was massive and beautiful, we had everything we wanted and more at such a great price!! The breakfast was delicious home cooked scones and to die for wheaten bread with lots of coffee after our late night! Marcus was a lovely gentleman who knows how to make people welcome and should be proud of what he has done with the place. Hillsea had great parking, was within easy reach of town and had plenty of info for a successful trip.......and it certainly was :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pacasimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Marcus wasn't there when we arrived but were able to contact him and he said to let ourselves in, told us which room and to make ourselves comfortable. The room was clean and was by the front door on the first floor. During the night, it was somewhat noisy from the upstairs guests. We asked Marcus to call and book 2 other B&B's. He did so but then told us it cost 3 pounds in long distance charges! In the past, we had other hosts call for us and not one ever charged us! Not too impressed.

We really didn't see much of him since he had staff to service breakfast! It was convenient but just OK!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank northvancouver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed for four nights and were really happy we'd chosen Hillsea as our base. Room 5, at the back, is quiet and spacious. The breakfast scones are fantastic. The location is ideal: there's plenty of off-street parking, and it's just a short walk to the centre. Hillsea is great if you have your bicycle with you. When you let Marcus know you're going for a ride, he gets the bike out of the garage; when you return, he puts it away. He's a very friendly host, with lots of suggestions on activities and places to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballycastle hotels
0.5 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
681 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 24 in Ballycastle
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
Glen Haven Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 24 in Ballycastle
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#6 of 24 in Ballycastle
114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenmore House
Glenmore House
#15 of 24 in Ballycastle
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6 Rathlin View, Ballycastle, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hillsea Bed & Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing