We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of our very favorites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J & J's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Ballycastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“one of our very favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is a truly delightful place, and a great location for seeing the gorgeous coast and Glens of Antrim. We stayed (after a quite late arrival, about which Jennifer was extremely gracious), 3 nights in 2 rooms (1 for 3 teens, 1 for parents). Above all, we simply loved the rooms: Our elegant black and white double and the kids’ exquisite blue triple were decorated in great style, yet were also cozy, comfy, welcoming. We all slept soundly and happily, woke to delicious, more-than-ample breakfasts, and appreciated suggestions about sights, routes, restaurants (thanks for the tip to drive back from the Glens along the coast road--breathtaking!). Jennifer and Joe are just what you want in hosts: warm, friendly, helpful, without being intrusive. We were sorry to leave this lovely, lovely house (I‘d say it‘s homey but it‘s much nicer than our home!), and it’s hard to imagine how anyone could not have a happy experience here. Almost forgot to mention: compared to nearby B & Bs, it was a bargain besides. But most important, back home a month later, this is one of the places still in our hearts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    66
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
163
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at J & J's guesthouse while attending a friends wedding in Ballycastle. We were warmly welcomed by Jennifer and shown around the house as well as recommending different places to eat and visit around the area. The rooms are immaculate, beautifully decorated as well as being spacious and comfortable with ensuite. Jennifer cooked us a very tasty breakfast as well as offering yoghurts and fruit to take out for lunch. All in all a great stay, would be my first port of call when in Ballycastle again! Many Thanks Jennifer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed in J & J's Guesthouse in September 2010 with my husband after a Friend's Wedding in Ballycastle. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, even giving us a lift to the reception after the wedding service. The rooms are lovely and spacious and well equipped and all very clean. Smokers can avail of the sun room for a quick puff, instead of going outside. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GernChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed overnight on 4th September for a local wedding. The welcome was friendly and genuine. The room was comfortable and immaculate. Jennifer was very pleasant and helpful - even taking us via two trips to the hotel for the reception! The breakfast was tasty and certainly got us ready for the trip home to Belfast. Many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed with Joe and Jennifer for 3 nights and found them very hospitable hosts, always helpful and Joe even gave us a lift into town one evening.
The room was a large sized room, decorated to a high standard and always spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and warm I didn't want to leave in the mornings!
A perfect location being a 10 minute walk to the beach/ballycastle centre, a 5 minute drive to the carrick-a-rede rope bridge, 15 minute drive to the giants causeway and within close reach of so many other places.
The breakfast was good, you can help yourself to fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast and/or have a freshly cooked Irish breakfast.
We shall definately be returning and staying with Joe and Jennifer again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

I've just stayed at J & J's Bed & Bbreakfast and found it to be Friendly clean and comfortable and i would recomend this B & B for a stay in Ballycastle

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcb_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at J & J's B&B with our 10 month old in August 2010. We had the downstairs room which was next to the car park and kitchen so ideal for unloading the car and making bottles etc. The room was beautifully decorated - certainly not your normal B&B chic - and cosy but with plenty of room for the travel cot.

Jennifer and Joe were great hosts and let us use the kitchen to heat bottles and gave us plenty of advice of places to eat and visit. We were able to decamp to the guest living room to watch tele in the evening which was a godsend. The Ulster Fry for breakfast was also superb.

It was a pleasant 10 mins walk to the harbour/beach with a pushchair.

We were sad to leave after only 1 nights stay but were glad to have had a wonderful nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
0.9 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#6 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J's Bed and Breakfast

Property: J & J's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 58 Clare Road, Ballycastle BT54 6LQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycastle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on main road going towards Giants Causeway 12 to 15 min drive, and glens of Antrim. short walk to centre of town in one direction and also to beach,tennis courts and harbour in other direction. Free parking which is gated. Free Wi-Fi all rooms have tea and coffee facilities,32 inch flat screen TVs hairdryers. Guest lounge, and smoking area at rear of house. At J and J we offer good value and friendly accommodation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j & j`s Hotel Ballycastle
j And j`s Bed And Breakfast
j & j`s b&b
J & J's Bed And Breakfast Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing