We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Grub”
Review of Central Wine Bar

Central Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Ballycastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This Family run establishment was 2009 finalist in the Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. From its traditional bar to its chic restaurant and enclosed beer garden its a perfect venue for a great experience in entertainment and dining.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Called in for a quick snack, we had been in it a couple of years ago and had been impressed. It was still as we thought, a nice busy pub with decent food and attentive staff. I can see why it won an award.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    183
    49
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch will return for dinner next visit”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on the way back
From Giant Causeway on a tight schedule waitress was wonderful and fed and watered in 25 mins
Will return lovely place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank empsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super food and setting.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service, food and surroundings. The most delicious Irish smoked salmon starter! Very reasonable prices too - always a bonus :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrionyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food and well priced.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'd read about this place before we arrived and it also came recommend by the owner of our accommodation.
The food & drink was well priced (in comparison to southern Ireland prices) with large portions and cheap house wine of decent quality. I had the chicken stack which came with fried onion shavings on top which were divine.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant for an enjoyable dinner at a good price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit thoroughly disappointing.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to revisiting this establishment, but totally let down. We had to eat in the bar, despite a large sign outside advertising the restaurant open all day! The menu read well but the food did not live up to our expectations. The seafood tagliatelle was bland, as was my daughter's carbonara. I had the cod and chips which came as goujons (more batter than fish), dripping with oil, and the chips undercooked. I would've received better in the local chippy. My husband's burger was ok as was my son's lasagne. We didn't complain as we wanted to leave as quickly as possible - both my son and I felt awful after eating such oily bland food. We won't be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Somescran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Wine Bar also viewed

Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Been to Central Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing