We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden Cottage Ballycastle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Cottage Ballycastle
Open plan kitchen, well equipped for self-catering Open plan sitting room with TV and sofa bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Garden Cottage Ballycastle
Open plan kitchen, well equipped for self-catering
Open plan sitting room with TV and sofa bed.
Cottage bedroom, small but cosy
Upstairs bedroom with ensuite shower/wc
Cottage patio, private afternoon suntrap
Giant's causeway 12 miles away
Ballintoy harbour, Game of Thrones film location, 6 miles away
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge 5 miles away
Dunluce Castle 14 miles away
Ballycastle golf club 0.3 miles away. Special rates for our guests
Fairhead from Kinbane 3 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
kay567
United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself and mum stayd during the lammas fair, Location was excellent, lovely homely hidden gem of a cottage,Phoebe made us very welcome in every way, including wine and flowers, we would book again, many thanks to Phoebe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thanks Kay, it was lovely to meet you and your mum and a pleasure to have you to stay. I look forward to seeing you back at Garden Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“''Cosy base for exploring''”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location! Location! It's near to the harbour and beach in Ballycastle. It was in a great spot for exploring the causeway coast and there are plenty of sights to see to fill a week or more. I would recommend a day trip to Londonderry and also a ferry trip to Rathlin Island. The Giant's Causeway is a must but get there very early to avoid the coach loads!

We were able to park close to the main house without charge.
Thanks to Phoebe for the flowers and wine on arrival!

I did notice some noises in the night but isn't this to be expected when you sleep somewhere different? The cottage is close to main house so if the guests are in the garden, you will hear them from the cottage. If you want complete solitude then you may want to look elsewhere!

The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to make a hearty breakfast and suppers. There are some decent takeaways and restaurants within easy walking distance. The double bed was comfortable although my partner said the pillows were too soft but you can't please everyone. The bathroom is very small so I agree if you're large then you may struggle.

I would recommend the cottage and we would consider staying again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thanks Donna for your review, I'm glad to hear you were comfortable and thought Garden Cottage was in a great Location. I am delighted you are happy to recommend it to others who I'm sure will find your comments helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Antrim coast”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Garden cottage is a perfect base to explore all the Antrim coast has to offer, it's also close to Ballycastle shops and waterfront. It's a comfortable spotlessly clean wee cottage and very well equipped with everything you would need. We bought meat from the butchers in town donolleys which was excellent and cooked some lovely meals in the cottage. Phoebe the owner was there to meet us and left a bottle of wine and lovely vase of garden flowers she was very helpful and friendly as were all the locals we encountered on our weeks holiday. We had a lovely time despite the weather! It was lovely to have a cosy cottage to come back to. We wouldn't hesitate recommending this accommodation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thanks so much Susan for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymie Ell...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy and cosy”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage was perfect for our holiday to Northern Ireland. Very comfy and cosy, had everything we needed. A stones throw from the beach, shops and many restaurants. Ballycastle is perfect to stay for going to various attractions along the Causeway Coast. Staying in this self catering cottage gave us the opportunity to come and go as and when we pleased. Will definitely be returning to this quaint cottage with a garden to enjoy a relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thanks so much Kym for taking the time to post your review. Really glad you enjoyed your holiday in Garden Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Seniorst...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Quaint and practical”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a good stay in the Garden Cottage and we used it as a base to see the area. The only two issues for us, we could hear traffic from the bedroom window ( which we like open at night) and the double bed is a bit worse for wear so our sleeps weren't that great. However, kitchen and little living room were cozy st the end of the day. Note that the price is very reasonably priced for the value. The owner was great and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2017
Thank you Jeannie for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall.
The solid pine bed frame with integrated side tables/drawers is built-in and as it shows only superficial signs of wear we felt that investing in a good quality mattress and bedding would be more beneficial for our guests. The recently purchased 'Sealy' mattress is one of the top rated brands for comfort on the market and comes with a ten year warranty so I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't sleep soundly on it.
Although cottage is set back from the road behind our larger property we have installed double glazing in the bedroom to limit the effect of noise when the window is closed.
I'm delighted you felt the Garden Cottage offered good value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPDDerbys...
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal holiday home in a great location - just what we needed.”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This detached holiday cottage was everything we needed as a great base for our two week holiday. Set back from the road it was quiet and comfortable and being only a few hundred yards from the sea front we didn't need the car every day. Our host was very helpful with advice and information. Ballycastle is an ideal resort to explore the area from and this competitively priced Garden Cottage accommodation ticks all the boxes for any couples looking for somewhere to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thanks so much Paul for your appreciative comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Garden Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KitSuffol...
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Tiny but very well equipped”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is tiny and has been quite crudely modernised, but it is very warm and cosy. This was very important during our stay, particularly since my husband was not very well. It was one of the best equipped cottages in terms of cooking equipment we have ever rented, although we did very little cooking as we were visiting family. However, the bathroom and its sink are so tiny that it is impossible to have a wash without getting the floor soaking wet.
Garden Cottage makes a very convenient place to stay, being close to nearby shops, restaurants and the beach, as well as having easy parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you Yvonne for taking the time to post your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable in the cottage despite it's size. It is small and the style is rustic rather than sleek contemporary which I hope is adequately reflected in the description and the photos. We have prioritised a comfortable bed and practical furnishings to make the most of the space with the result that the price for a couple compares favorably to hostel accommodation.
Guests are also guaranteed a warm welcome with a complimentary bottle of wine when they stay at Garden Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing