We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Glenariff Forest Park
Ranked #21 of 240 things to do in County Antrim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived midday yesterday. The site was empty apart from a few tents and vans. We paid for two nights the surroundings are really tranqil and the facilities ok.

The peace didnt last long. The quads started at 5 and went on until 11. Then the drinking, wailing, repetitive music and shouting began and went on until the early hours. It became apparent we were sharing the site with travellers, pikies, gypsies whatever you prefer to call them. After last night's experience I have no desire to seek out a particularly politically correct name to refer to them by.

They do not care about anyone else and true to form they are a law onto themselves. We spoke to both rangers who were familiar with them and well aware of their behaviour.

We had paid for Sunday night but left as soon as we could pack up-just around the time when the quad bikes started again!

It's a shame because the site is nice but ruined by these people. The site had filled up yesterday afternoon and evening but by this morning all but two had packed up and left. Unsurprisingly basics like common courtesy and thought for others just doesn't occur to these people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    56
    18
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Complaints”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was good but the midges wouldn't go away last night people were annoyed by the midges and I would not go back there ever again with duke of ed because boys in the quads woke us all up and we couldn't get to sleep

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dblad126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the most beautiful place to be”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I cannot describe this place, I love it, it is the place to relax, to be yourself, to think, ponder and decide. I walked here on two days and I didn't want to leave. The food in the laragh lodge was the best that I have ever had, it was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Call Ahead for Trail Openings”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The grounds are stunning, but be sure to phone ahead of time if you're interested in the main Waterfall Trail. My husband and I drove an hour only to find that the Waterfall Trail and part of the Scenic Trail had been closed due to a recent storm. However, the viewpoints along the Scenic Trail provide stunning views, so it is still well worth the trip.

There is a £4.50 fee per car to enter the main parking lot (different to what a previous reviewer experienced) with access to bathroom facilities and a large scenic picnic area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anais H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

You need to go here and experiance this for yourself as words do not do it justice. If you like the outdoors then youll love this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenariff Forest Park also viewed

 
County Antrim, Northern Ireland
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Been to Glenariff Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing