We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh!!”
Review of James Street South

James Street South
Ranked #21 of 1,129 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $104
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Irish produce for a seasonal menu. Pre theatre Mon-Fri £21.50, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door. Our other restaurants are The Bar & Grill at James Street South, Hadskis and Cast & Crew.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

For a person who doesn't like seafood I think it's only a compliment to the chef that this evening I started with chilled crab and followed up with a turbot main course. Both beautifully fresh leaving me full up, but not too sleepy!! Still have a bit of room for dessert too...

Thank cjmacritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it means a lot that you have taken the time to write your favorable review. we very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 659 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wonderful inventive food. Well presented and attentive waiting staff. Very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased that you will recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

When here last night with my partner for our Anniversary & the food & service were excellent.. The attention to detail is brilliant and are made very welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave.. The food is out of this world and l look forward to going back again.. This place is a must go if you want excellent food & great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here at James Street South and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Food cooked to perfection. Great quiet and elegant atmosphere. Excellent service and good value for money overall. Probably one of the best gourmet restaurants in Belfast at the moment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esaizpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerjss, Manager at James Street South, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for this review! We are very glad that you enjoyed dining with us and we very much look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal in James street south. A quiet night in rainy Belfast the restaurant was sparsly populated, but the food was outstanding. I had scallops with orange for starters whilst my wife had crab lasagne. Both were perfectly cooked and flavoursome. Main courses of turbot and halibut did not disappoint either, whilst the desserts of rose water marshmallow, rhubarb and custard and lemon cream and meringue brought the meal to a perfect close. Service was unobtrusive but attentive and we could not fault any part of the evening, even the cost ( £90)was worth it. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Himandher325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing