We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience”
Review of James Street South

James Street South
Ranked #23 of 1,058 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $98
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Irish produce for a seasonal menu. Pre theatre Mon-Fri £21.50, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door. Our other restaurants are The Bar & Grill at James Street South, Hadskis and Cast & Crew.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Always a good experience”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Food of a very high standard and service excellent. We went on girls night out for a special celebration and were not disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evy3547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    177
    92
    40
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited james street south restaurant for lunch during our recent stay in Belfast. The set lunch was excellent value for money, though, disappointing that all Belfast restaurants don't offer complementary bread! The parsnip soup was delicious, agreed that this was the outstanding course. staff were attentive, friendly and did not rush us at all as we enjoyed our leisurely lunch. Would definitely revisit during our next stay in Belfast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my first visit to this restaurant and the first experience was the professionalism of the staff. the starters and main course were excellent. Definitely. the pricing was also very competeiveely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I went Sat 15th as a valentine's treat. We opted for the tasting menu which was fabulous. I tried some dishes for the first time and was delighted with each course. The guy serving the wine for each course made the night. He was so knowledgeable and everything he told us was spot on. He showed such a passion and enthusiasm that was catching. Great food complimented by the perfect wines and service that was second to none. I'll be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Chrismc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely evening for enjoyed by both of us.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am a veggie and my partner eats anything - we were both very happy with our food - from starters to desserts - and reasonably priced too.
I would recommend - you will feel spoilt and have tasted lovely food !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Healthtreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing