We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...made our weekend in Belfast really special.”
Review of James Street South

James Street South
Ranked #23 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $95
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Irish produce for a seasonal menu. Pre theatre Mon-Fri £21.50, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door. Our other restaurants are The Bar & Grill at James Street South, Hadskis and Cast & Crew.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place...made our weekend in Belfast really special.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having booked a two night stay in Belfast - first timers in Belfast - we wanted dinner to be really special. Often when visiting a new city, you can be so dissapointed about your choice of restaurant, and feel a bit let down by the place.

So pleased we chose James Street South.

Really friendly welcome and attention...

Service, decor, atmosphere...perfect.

Oh, and the food! Beautiful.

Well done JSS...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank awk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    173
    92
    40
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“usual excellent meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

we booked on line (which is always easy and convenient) and looked forward to the usual excellent standard of cuisine at JSS. The waiting staff are efficient but friendly and I can only say that having seen a review which rated the place as over polite I couldn't disagree more: our waiter was friendly and informative without being intrusive. I always enjoy the selection of starters ("The JSS plate") since i want to try a bit of everything and it didnt disappoint. we didnt order dessert but really enjoyed the macaroons which arrived with coffee. all in all a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank gillianb710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“satisfactory lunchtime meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

i was very pleased with my recent lunch in James Street South. The service was excellent as was the house wine and the food. I would come here again. The price was more than I usually pay but that would not stop me from coming back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We were two adults and one child that came here for the pre theatre menu. The staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived. They were helpful and friendly and had a little banter with the youngest member of our party. My starter was poached John Dory with pickled vegetables which I wasn't too keen on, however that is personal taste and there was nothing wrong with the dish whatsoever. I had the lambs belly with pearl barley and carrots for main and the burst of flavours in my mouth was unbelievable. It was easily the nicest lamb I have ever had. I had the cheeseboard for dessert which was fabulous too. All three of us absolutely loved our meal here, the youngest member disappointed that she hadn't had the lamb!! Would definitely come back and try the full a la carte!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I can not recommend this establishment enough from the friendly welcome from the staff to the excellent food I was extremely impressed by this little gem in Belfast. There was a great range of options to choose from in the menu and everything was cooked perfect to order ... To many time have I asked for rare and been disappointed with over cooked meat. My partners meal and I was perfect we had three courses each and a bottle of wine and enjoyed every bite. It was a great price and a great atmosphere... Well done I can not recommend you enough to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing