We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Grub”
Review of The Garrick Bar

The Garrick Bar
Ranked #104 of 1,047 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Called in here on a quiet Thursday afternoon, the food was good honest hearty food and very good value for money. I love their selection of world beers, the staff was very friendly. If its good pub grub your after then the Garrick is hard to beat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mediumsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    97
    13
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Love the selection of beers and ciders from all over the world here. Nice traditional irish food on offer at a reasonable price. Friendly and attentive staff. Best pint of Guinness in Belfast!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yipsandyeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good grub, great beer and a nice pub to boot.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was up in Belfast with a gang of mates looking for a good pub to watch an early evening rugby match and get some grub in.
An old mate from Belfast recommended The Garrick to me so we headed on up.
It was absolutely heaving. I think in general it’s a very popular pub anyway, but with Christmas only a few weeks away the whole city was bustling.
Getting seats took a bit of time, but we managed to get a few tables together in two different sections and settle ourselves in.
There were 16 of us in all and between the lot of us we must have ordered nearly everything on the menu and everyone enjoyed their meal.
All the typical pub fare you’d expect is on the menu (burgers, pies and goujons, etc), but some of the lads also had risottos and pasta dishes which were of a high quality too.

They’ve a fantastic selection of beers; all the usuals and a brilliant selection of craft beers.

The pub itself is old with lots of character.

As I said it was very busy, but I won’t hold it’s popularity against it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stopped here for a quick lunch and were really pleasantly surprised - good beers, nice food and friendly staff (who gave us some good recommendations for other bars).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre dining.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Before going to the Waterfront we ate in the Garrick Bar on recommendation and we were NOT disappointed. Upon arrival,the staff made every attempt to seat us even though the bar was pretty busy and we were seated in a very cosy corner and given excellent service. We opted for the special which was a main course with a glass of wine or a bottle of beer costing a very reasonable £8.95. The food was delicious and the portions substantial and the attention we received from the staff was top notch. Over and above the special offer we had another drink and I decided to sample their apple and black berry crumble served with ice cream which was certainly large enough for two people and it was yummy!!! We will most certainly be going back again .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac3blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garrick Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Garrick Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing