We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scalini Restaurant

Scalini Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Queen's Quarter
Description: Scalini is an Italian family run pizzeria restaurant in the heart of South Belfast & within walking distance of Queen's University & Botanic Gardens. Since opening in October 2001 its popularity has grown to become one of Belfast's favourite Italian eateries. A Mediterranean glow welcomes you on entering the doors of Scalini - not just in the warm ochre hue of the décor but also in the welcome from our friendly staff.
ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Two of us ate here on a snowy Monday night in January when we didnt want to walk too far from our hotel. It was a bit 80's - checked table cloths, plastic grapevines, heavy dark wooden furniture, "italian" frescoes on the wall. Service was prompt and polite, no draught beer but they do serve Peroni in bottles. I had seabass which was cooked perfectly and served with a slightly piquant cream sauce, and some mash. My husband had an average Calzone pizza. Food was fine, service was fine, we paid £40 odd quid for two drinks and a main course each. Probably wouldn't go back - not because they did anything wrong, it was just a little nondescript.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    204
    54
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
233 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

9 of us dined there on a Saturday night. Service was efficient, no mistakes were made in the order. I had chicken strips for starter and penne bolognese for main course. Large portions and very tasty food. My husband had bruschetta which was loaded with fresh tomatoes, followed by a spicy pizza which he thoroughly enjoyed. Everybody else enjoyed their meals and with a few bottles of wine it worked out at £30 per head. Good spot in central location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobby911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“long queue but worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had to wait quite a while for a table but when the food arrived it was well worth the wait. Good choice of food available

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was really fresh and delicious and perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was lovely and lively. This was some of the best Italian food I have eaten which was evident in the fact that it was full on a Sunday night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A converted terrace in a busy Belfast street with lovely Italian style food. Very busy and have to wait a short while to get a seat but worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalini Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Scalini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing