We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gingeroot

Gingeroot
Ranked #590 of 1,044 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Zephryhills,Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had never sampled Indian cuisine before but decided to try it. The hour was late, so we only indulged in 3 or 4 appetizers,not caring to eat heavily so late in the evening. It was extremely delicious,trying food we had never eaten before. Also, I tried the masala hot tea which I thought was just excellent. We thought so highly of the fare, went back the next nite, again very late, so indulged in some different appetizers, but had same tea, two cups to be exact. This time we had dessert, some wonderful ice cream. The owner and his staff were just wonderful. Very friendly and quite gracious. The restaurant had Wi-Fi, which my daughter used. The restaurant was very close to the hotel we stayed in. We just wished they had served breakfast, because we would've been there to try that too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food and service of Gingeroot truly is excellent and they make you feel very welcome.We loved it so much we went back the very next night and they made us feel like family!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyinsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

After a days traveling both my Girl and I were keen for a nice Indian meal. Ginger Root was recommended and a short walk from where we were, so we took it under advisement.

Service was great from the start, quick to bring drinks and make recommendations for us. Mew sampled lots of things, ultimately eating and drinking far too much.

The food was exceptional, nice cuts of meat, flavoursome and tasty. Breads and condiments were also great.

The service was friendly and prompt, the restaurant is very clean and well presented.

If your looking for a good curry, you'll struggle to find better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The Indians Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Been with genuine Indians from the sub continent on a number of visits. It never fails to impress me or them. Tasty spices with delicate flavours unlike your typical takeaway Indian. They do proper staters and authentic desserts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnalbanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were only in Belfast for four days, but after a great meal here on the first night, we had to go back again! Food was really tasty and reasonably priced, with polite and attentive serving staff eager to give advice on Indian food to those who don't know much about it. Will definitely be going back if we find ourselves in Belfast again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingeroot also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Gingeroot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing