We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food great price and superb service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Panda

Red Panda
Ranked #147 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $24 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Red Panda is Northern Ireland's leading Chinese Restaurant and has been since 1999. We provide an extensive and varied menu using local and international ingredients. Situated in the heart of Belfast, we offer elegant surroundings and professional service. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent food great price and superb service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I have been here often. The food is always ace, really among the best there is. Their honey chilli chicken salted king prawns and chilli pork chop are prize winning dishes. Today we had the chop and a chicken and mushroom black bean sauce with fried rice. I asked for the black bean to have a little fresh red chilli. It was delivered as required and super. The portions are generous and the service friendly. What's not to like.

Helpful?
Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    123
    41
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I went by a recommended review and was hoping to bring my mother and auntie out for a lovely meal... It was terrible!! Between the three of us we did not get one decent meal. The beef was tough, the fish dish smothered in sauce and chicken dish bland!! Never again!!

Helpful?
Thank Fib17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently visited this restaurant, as I was told by friends that it was great!!! On arrival we were seated by a nice gentleman... I have to say all the staff were nice and polite, however the food was mediocre at best!! Definitely not what I was expecting!! The bbq ribs however were the best part of this meal, they were very tender and just fell off the bone!! We ordered a drink when we sat down, and it didn't arrive until we had our starters ate!! Food was quite poor, I have had a lot nicer Chinese food from a lot of other places, that has not got this chineses reputation!!! It's also quite pricey with most mains in around £12-£15, "not worth it!!" I won't be in a hurry back!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happysally66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor for reputation it has”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

i was at the red panda it was not overly bussy so i would have expected it to be good.The batter on the tasteless pork was poor the salt and chilli chicken did not have any the chicken curry was insiped wine overpriced ribs tasteless salt and chilli prawns were ok tho 3out of 10 will not be back or recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pbz898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good experience and very pleasant meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

On the search for some food last night about 9 o'clock, went to the Red Panda on Gt Victoria Street. The staff was so attentive, without bothering you. Had a lovely meal, and although the restaurant was a bit empty, but probably has more customers when the theatres get out.
I thoroughly enjoyed my meal, and the spacing of the tables was very good, as sometimes you cannot even move your chair for fear of bumping into the next table.
Lovely experience, and a nice finish to the evening at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Panda also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Red Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing